Great Word Count Today!

Why oh why would you want a pissing, stuffed animal puppy?????  Just saw one on a commercial.  That’s just wrong. 

wine.jpgBut…

I have good news!  I’m having a nice glass of Merlot to celebrate. 

Well, first badnews.  Both my kids are sick.  I had to miss work today to hand out Tylenol for fever, juice for vitamin C and well, I tried pushing soup, but they’re noodle kids.  I added chicken broth anyway.  But, between kid runs, I wrote.  And wrote and wrote.

Over 6000 words!

I used part of an old scene, incorporated it into this book and I’m loving it.  I love the beginning I finally settled on–love that I dumped that stupid self-doubt that had been slowing me down–love that I revisited my characters and found they are stronger and more clear than before.  I finished one chapter and got pretty far into the next.   I thought writing a series book would be hard and it is difficult to decide how much of the last book’s info needs to be threaded in for possible new readers, but going in with characters you already know and love makes it fun. 

They are becoming very real to me.  Hmmm… should I be wary of that or not?

Anyway, I’ll probably have to go back to work tomorrow, so I’m gonna skip Chuck and Heroes and continue writing while it’s hot tonight.  I’m jazzed over the word count, but more jazzed that I finally figured out where to begin book two.  Yay. 😉  Okay and a part of my success is probably because I’m using my work laptop instead of my personal one.  Mine is dying a slow, horrible death and it crashes constantly and slows momentum.  So my employer said it would be fine for me to use this one for personal stuff for now. 

I now have to buy this from him.  It’s a Toshiba with the works, Vista, etc.  And this is going to sound weird but I like the keyboard.  It has this sastifactory clicking feel to it.  Seriously.  I’m in love with this laptop, so either I have to go out and buy one exactly like it or I gotta talk my way into buying this one.  heh heh.

So yes, I’m sad my kiddos got sick, but the TLC made them better and the day off did wonders for me.  I just love having my writing time. 🙂

Oh!!!  And…. take a minute to go over and congratulate Celise!  She finished the roughdraft of her next book!  I’m lifting my merlot in the air for you as well, Celise!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Great Word Count Today!

  1. Tez Miller says:

    6000 words in a day? You’re a freaking masochist! 😉 Seriously, I’m in true respect and envy of your massive progress.

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  2. relliott4 says:

    This has only happened once or twice before. I found the entrance to the zone today. Man, wish I could find it every single time I sat down to write. (g)

    Thing is, when I’m writing full time, I usually stop around 3, 000 words a day and feel good about that count. I think with practice, I can do that count consistently. It’s just all that other stuff… like work… that gets in the way. heh heh

    Thanks!

  3. Terri says:

    Woohooo! You totally rock, woman! I’m looking forward to diving back into my novella tonight, and hopefully finishing it over the next two weeks or so.

    Hope the kiddos feel better soon!!

  4. Ken says:

    Good for you! That’s an accomplishment. Sorry to hear about the kids. Hope you can continue to be inspired and write at this pace.

  5. 6,000 words!!!!! I’m in awe. Congratulations, Rinda. I told Barry you were going to find an agent, and they’d find you a publisher and sign you to a 3 book deal. I believe in you. 🙂

  6. Rinda says:

    Thanks, Sara, Ken and Terri!

    I doubt I do 6000 words a day often, but I’d love to. It would take about seventeen days to finish a roughdraft. I’m still happy with the two month roughdraft pace.

    Some people believe that fast writing keeps the story from being deep, but sometimes I feel that if you’re in that story so deeply, it flows better.

  7. Carol says:

    All I can say is WOW! I’d love to get that much done at once, but yes, writing with series characters is fun. The hard thing is remembering the reader may not know them as well and including the things they need to know. Carol

  8. Michele says:

    YAY!! Maybe you just needed this little ‘timeout’, granted your kids being ill is no fun, but it was a timeout for the tedium of picture taking!!

    I love a good keyboard feel and click. The rhythm gets you moving and into a zone. My last job had an excellent keyboard, I could write like the wind!

  9. Celise says:

    You are da friggin’ bomb, Rinda. Thanks so much for plugging me today. I’m giving my mind a break. And I’m hoping you recorded Heroes and have watched it by now because it was GREAT! As was Chuck.

  10. Sorry to hear your kids are sick. Hope they get better soon. Yayy on the word progress! 🙂

  11. Jill Monroe says:

    Great job on those 6000 words! Yahoo!!

    Sorry about the sick kiddies. I had one angling not to go to school last night. We’ll see what’s up this morning.

  12. Ken says:

    Rhinda,
    Did you see this?

    Police Ask For Help In Locating Missing Tulsa Teen

    posted 3:50 pm Mon November 12, 2007 – Tulsa

    Tulsa police are asking for help in locating a 13-year-old girl who was last seen Friday. Cori Jesse Baker was last seen leaving Union Alternative School near 56th and South 129th East Avenue. Since then, police say she has had no contact with her family or friends.

    Tulsa police homicide detectives are concerned Cori may have met with foul play and believe any and all information concerning Cori could be important.

    Cori is a white female, about 5’5″ and 105 pounds with brown hair and blue eyes. Anyone with information is urged to contact police immediately.
    http://www.ktul.com/news/stories/1107/471982.html

  13. Rinda says:

    No, I didn’t. I don’t live near Tulsa. I hope they find her.

  14. Yea Rinda!

    Oh, and I saw that commercial too. Weird puppy. I don’t even want to clean up after the real ones!

  15. X. Dell says:

    That’s a kick-ass rate, especially if you like the pages. Whatever’s inspires you, I hope it stays around. I’m hoping, though, that it isn’t running around taking care of everyone (that could get tiring after awhile).

  16. Laura says:

    The question is, why wouldn’t you want a pissing, stuffed animal puppy?
    [And such a high word count makes me incredibly jealous. Keep it up. :)]

Leave a Reply

