Curiousity Killed the– Plus, Writing News

curious.jpg

Do you ever get curious about the searches that bring people to your site?  I love reading the search strings that bring readers here, but I’m seriously, seriously curious about the people who type in my name. 

Who is looking for me?  Why?

Saturday, someone typed in “rinda elliott” five times.  Of course, a writer’s mind immediately goes into overdrive.  Could it be…

An agent I’ve queried? (Oh yes, please.  And be impressed.  A little bit impressed is okay, too.  ((( and for those subliminally inclined… request a full…request a full…)))   😉  )

An editor I’ve sent short fiction to?  (Okay, this would be like one right now.  Damn my honesty.  The book length stuff sucks up my time and I have an excellent idea for Apex!)

A creepy stalker? (I think he gave up, but my Myspace is still a bit crowded.)

Nosy family? (Curious family? Out of touch relatives?  This is the one I think most likely.)

A fellow writer? (New writer’s group member, maybe?  Someone who liked one of my workshops?)

One of my kids? (Either making me feel good, or a part of that nosy family thing.)

Other recent search strings?

heather brooke deep throat  (Uh, what?)
hands (This one is constant.  My poem is either very popular or the pictures I used are.)
yule (I have no freaking idea.)
masks (I have a poem with this title, but more than likely, this is an image thing again.)

natalie shau (Really talented artist–check her out.)
roots (An excellent image I used in the SFAP–which I terminated. 😉 )
daniel craig (He is a daily search.  I don’t blame them.)
dunecat (Because it’s a funny LOL Cat.)

dunecat.jpg

And in writing news, I am so freaking groggy this morning.  I’ve been reading through the entire manuscript and making notes as I go of things to add or wrap up in the final two chapters.  There were a couple of discrepancies after all. 

Worked for nearly as many hours yesterday as I did Saturday but finally had to give up with a hundred pages still to go.  I was so jacked up from working, I couldn’t sleep until around three. 

Hubby’s awful, awful alarm went off at five-thirty!!! 

So, I have to go into work exhausted and stuffed up from an oncoming cold.  Been fighting the sinus headache for days and this morning, I think I’ve lost the battle.

But…  I like my book. I do.  You know how you can step back from something and creeping doubts will begin infiltrating your confidence in the work?  I’ve laid most of them to rest and will bury those lingering tonight when I finally, finally finish and put this one aside. 

I know.  Said that before.  But it still had critiques to go through–had to work on spotted problem areas.  Mainly more swamp details.  Intrigued? 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Curiousity Killed the– Plus, Writing News

  1. Sorry about the cold but glad the book is working. I knew it would because it’s a great book. Houston is cold this weekend but later this week its supposed to be back up to the seventies. Take care, carol

  2. Karen says:

    Sounds like you’ve been working flat out! Sorry you’re not feeling well, but you’re doing so brilliantly on the book revisions.

    I can’t wait to see you start posting about the submission process… I love that stuff! I’m not in the position to start querying yet, but it’s a good learning process for me when writers further along the path share their experiences. Thanks for blogging about it. 🙂

  3. relliott4 says:

    You are so welcome! I will continue to post about my submission progress–all the trials, etc. I’m also not taking a break, but diving into book two. It has a good beginning done, so it’s ready to go.

    Rereading book one reminded me of things I want to get across about my characters in book two.

    I’m so glad people find this interesting. My poor hubby is sick of hearing about it. heh heh

    Stay warm Carol. I really hope these doctors find a way to help your daughter. Hugs.

  4. Karen says:

    I love blog posts that focus on writing… Each writer’s process is so individual and interesting. And the business of writing is a minefield – hearing about someone else’s experiences is priceless. 🙂

  5. Lol on the Heather Brooke deep throat! Must tell Ms. Taylor. 😉

    And I’m definitely intrigued and really want to read it. Really, really.

Leave a Reply

