Odd Yet Busy Day

 diary.jpg

Tight Schedules Can Inspire a Person to get off the old Butt. 😉

Came home sick from work and slept nearly four hours.  I’m fighting a cold and plan to take tomorrow to rest some more.  This one rode in with an unbelievably bad headache.  Got pay/work issues happening, too, so things have been a little unsettling and stressful there. 

I’m working so hard to get my writing career going—want to get back to that 3000 daily word count that gave me such a fulfilling sense of accomplishment.  Plus, if I’m writing during the day, I’ll have more time for the hubby and kiddos in the evenings.  As it is, I’m sure my kids think this laptop has been surgically attached.

Ask Rachel, I work like a fiend.  She knows because it takes one to know one. 😉 

Yes, I’ve had her name here a lot lately, but we’ve been working together a lot.  She just finished critiquing seven of my chapters and I’m helping her with a new project.  Love this work!! 

But, on the writing front, things are hopping.  I got up from that needed rest to find my first rejection from an agent.  Since it’s been less than twenty-four hours since I submitted, I was surprised.  But honestly, I felt the e-query was too full.  I probably put the poor woman to sleep half way through the first page. 

So, I pulled everything out and Rachel and I took a look at it.  She agreed.  It was too long.  Sometimes, it does take fresh eyes to see a problem.  She chopped.  I chopped.  The results are way better.

So, swamped with a new enthusiasm, I sent off another e-query and emailed a separate agent for submission specifics. 

I did want to take a moment to say thanks to all the readers who are keeping up with the Snark.   I see you in the stat pages even if you don’t comment.  (I’m probably following you, as well…and I don’t always have time to comment either.)  But, I do hope the glimpse into one writer’s plunge inspires and encourages you to try as well. J

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Odd Yet Busy Day

  1. Tez Miller says:

    Ah, let me guess – you’re one of those people who write even when they’re feeling sick. Reminds me of my mum – even when she has a headache, she still does the crosswords/sudoku. I tried to reason with her, saying that you shouldn’t use your brain when your brain hurts, but she said something about “distracting”.

    Just one of those many instances in which children aren’t like their parents 😉 Are your kids like you in the work fiend respect?

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  2. Ken says:

    I’m sure you don’t need it, but hang in there and I’m sure you’ll get published. You’re lucky to have someone to look over your queries and evaluate how things are going even if it is only to tell you you are on the right track.

    Hope you get well soon.

  3. Michele says:

    So sorry about the rejection. Glad you got your second set of eyes out (Rachel) and whacked out the unnecessary. Good luck!!!

  4. Teri Brown says:

    I can imagine what Rachel is like as a CP… you guys probably have tons of fun:) And congrats on cutting down the query… it is tough, but very worth it. Good luck!
    Teri

  5. Sorry to hear you’re sick, chica. It seems like it’s the season to be catching colds and flus. Hope you get better soon. 🙂

  6. Karen says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon! As you already know, I *am* inspired and encouraged by your writing/submitting posts. Glad you sorted out the query – good luck! 🙂

  7. It was great chatting with you last night, and goodness knows I needed the distraction from my own mess of a project.

    And not to jinx anything, but I have a good feeling about this query. 😉

  8. One of the queries will do it and soon. I can’t wait! You will make it so big. If I weren’t doing the sleep deprived thing I’d be more productive but still working at it anyway. Houston is nice, up in the 70’s, not that I’ve seen outside since yesterday morning. Lori is a little depressed, trying to make a seizure happen. take care. can’t wait to get back home.

  9. Chandra says:

    Rachel sent me to your blog. 😉

    All the best for your querying process. Knock ’em dead, then bring back, so you can do it again for book #2!

  10. relliott4 says:

    Wow, you guys made my morning. No, it’s afternoon. Slept half the day away again. Think it’s helping with the cold, because I do feel better.

    This support probably sent it on its way a bit, too. 😉

    Tez, if it’s flu, I’m flat on my back, not even reading. But something like this, where sitting and resting is good, I’ll continue working on my writing. But then, I love to write–so it doesn’t always feel like work.

    Probably shouldn’t admit that….

    Carol, I’d love to make it big, but at this point I’m after making it. Okay, I said I’d be honest here–I’d love that. This story is kind of odd and different, so we’ll see.

    Teri, Rachel and I can at turns be harsh and then obsessive and then–yeah, it’s fun. We vowed to be honest no matter what and sometimes she makes me stomp around and sometimes I return the favor. It’s mostly interesting because she’s gone through this process of finding an agent and selling. I think she’s ready to get me past that so we can both settle in and just write like crazy.

    Man, we’re both warped.

  11. relliott4 says:

    I missed people. Ken, Michele, Tempest, Chandra and Karen! Thanks for the cheers. What Rachel said on her blog is right. This can be the difficult part, so I appreciate the cheers. 🙂

  12. Family (the joys and trials), work, writing (which is work), and everything else that a busy life entails… is still no excuse to slack on the blog. 😉

    (I really wish someone would create a sarcasm font.)

    Fingers crossed for an early christmas present for you from NY…

  13. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I’d love a sarcasm font! Thanks Heather! I’m still quivering in anticipation of hearing the total on all that handwritten writing you did this month. 😉

  14. Celise says:

    How do you guys do the critiquing thing? Do you actually meet in person or do you send thru emails? I would so love to find a local group that actually MEETS.

    Hope you get better soon.

  15. relliott4 says:

    Rachel and I set up a group on Yahoogroups. We upload our files there, critique, then upload the new versions. Sometimes, we get impatient–cause we’re both workaholics–and we just email directly.

    We critique using the comment feature of Word. Rachel tracks changes on my manuscripts and I can accept or delete her suggestions. I just comment all the way and don’t change anything–that way she can do it herself if she likes my suggestion. I may start switching over to the track changes option–though she never, ever needs as much grammar stuff as I seem to. ;p

    We do meet occasionally before OKRWA meetings, but that’s usually for brainstorming. We also brainstorm over the phone and through email at night.

  16. There must be something going around… I was down with a migraine yesterday and today. Good luck with queries!!!

    ~Jocelynn

  17. relliott4 says:

    Thanks Jocelynn! I’m soooo looking forward to getting my hands on your books! 😉

Leave a Reply

