Things I’m Loving Tonight and Writing News

This commercial cracked me up!

I love the show, Bones!  Love it!  The plots are beyond interesting, but the characters are simply fantastic–I even love the new therapist.  He’s funny. 

But, if I wasn’t head over heals for my own hubby, I would go after Boreanaz.  I might take it to stalker levels–the man is sweet!

  boreanaz.jpg

So, I slept half the day again.  The good news is I’m winning the battle with this damn cold.  Out, I say!

In Writing news I finished reading over the last one hundred pages of DOTT–still like it.  I sincerely hope I spark interest in the few people who have partials at this time.

And wow, but people, this is a seriously nerve-racking part of the writing process.  (Oh… the grammar folks out there tell me, is it wracking?  Or racking?  I’ve seen both.  Both are acceptable in the dictionary, btw–so what think you? )

When it comes to putting your work out there for feedback, it gets really, really difficult.  Chapters that once made me feel confident now look slow, cumbersome.  I know they aren’t, these particular chapters have placed in contests–so I think it’s nothing more than plain, old nerves.  

Today, I heard back from one agent who asked for a partial and a writer friend who asked to read the partial.  If she likes, she’ll forward it to her agent. 

So, is it weird that I’m more nervous about my writer friend reading it than a faceless agent who could possibly be the catalyst to an awesome future career???

😉  

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things I’m Loving Tonight and Writing News

  1. Karen says:

    Then again, your writer friend could *also* be a catalyst to an awesome future career, if she passes it onto her own agent… 😉

    Sounds like you’re handling things well – so far so good.

  2. Karen says:

    P.S. I meant to say, I love Bones too! Boreanaz is just… mmm… 😉

  3. I love Bones as well!!! It totally makes sense that you would be more nervous about your writer friend reading it. Sending you good writing vibes, Rinda! 🙂

  4. Nope, that’s perfectly normal. And that’s why none of my friends (except you) read my stuff until it hits the shelf. Friends opinions matter. Faceless agents (the ones who turn you down, anyway) don’t.

    But for the record, I still get nervous when I turn stuff in to my agent. And she’s read four books and two proposals from me. 😉

  5. I must have breathed on your blog. 😉 Sorry about that. Here’s to hoping you kick your cold in the ass.

    Yay for the partial request! 🙂

  6. Rinda says:

    Heather, this agent knows nothing about my work–I had just contacted her about guidelines–so it is and it isn’t a request. LOL!!!

    I’m feeling better. I’ve just had over a month of sinus headaches I can’t seem to kick.

    My friend loved my chapters… so we’ll see!!

  7. Thanks for the good wishes for Lori and I know everyone will like your work. I can’t wait for you to sell, and you will,but nervous is normal. Carol

Leave a Reply

