Riding the Anticipation Roller Coaster

roller.jpg 

 Waiting for the NO, the Maybe, or the Yes.

Since several people are thanking me for sharing what this is like, I’m diving in.  The emails have been sweet, btw. 😉

What I’m feeling today:

I got up ridiculously early.  Early enough to have the hubby do a double take when I shuffled into the kitchen for coffee.  I was wrapped in my favorite, fire-red blankie.  It’s chenille and so soft and warm, I would wear it out as clothing if I could. 

Instead of my usual “God, why do I have to get up?” scowl, I scooted in for a hug. 

Now I’m sitting here with my laptop and he keeps sliding me these strange sort of apprehensive looks. 

I think he’s expecting me to pop or something.  I might. 

I went to bed before midnight because we’re hitting that photo job again today and I don’t need to be sleepy.  Did I sleep?  NO!  I am experiencing these lightening-fast switches of emotion that have me walking around scrambled. 

I queried my first agent six months ago yet this time around it’s different because I took several writer friends’ advice and sent out a handful of E-queries this week.  They recommended ten.  I kept it to four.  I’ve already heard back from all of them.  Eek.  In total, five could possibly be reading DOTT right now.  (I sent a snail mail partial to one a month ago and have had one quick “no.”)

So, I get into bed last night and the brain jumps onto the coaster.  Up.  Down.  Around. Upside-freaking-down.

What if they all say no?  This is a very real possibility and believe it or not, I am prepared. 🙂

What if more than one responds with an offer? (Rachel said I needed an agent to find an agent.  Brat. <g>)

The latter isn’t a likely scenario because I’m a new writer.  Well…  not really (The OKRWA and Romance Ink members are all chuckling right about now.) -but as far as book length fiction, I may have written six other manuscripts, but I published none of them.   Got close, though! 

And I have published short fiction.   

So, honestly?  My skin is tougher now, but I’m still a little bit of a softy inside.  The hubby says that’s a part of my charm.  (But he’s still looking at me like my head could start spinning any second.)

And then, there is something I thought you guys would find amusing.  Especially Jill Monroe.  I wrote this president’s column a few years ago about fortune cookies.  I need to find a copy for you guys.  But she loved it.  I used to get these wonderful fortunes during the strangest times. 

So yesterday, the hubby took me for Chinese food for lunch.  As I told you, I had a killer attack of nerves right during lunch.  He picks up a fortune cookie and nudges the other toward me.  His said, “Keep your feet on the ground despite friend’s compliments.” 

I was like, “Hey, I should have picked that one.”   I was thinking that I need to be prepared for anything at this point and well, my friends do love me… so they could possibly be uh… flattering for a reason.  heh heh

His response was something along the lines of his usual no-nonsense kind.  “You didn’t.” 

So, I picked up mine and guess what it said? 

“Your current plans will succeed.” 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Riding the Anticipation Roller Coaster

  1. Ken says:

    Cool! That’s good to know.

  2. I’m so freaking excited for you I can barely stand it. 😮

  3. Jill Monroe says:

    That is the PERFECT fortune. You know, whenever I eat a fortune cookie, I think of you.

    Good luck, Rinda!

  4. relliott4 says:

    Heather, I am prepared for the no from them, but damn, it is hard not to be excited about the possibility of a yes, right? 😉

    Jill, thought you’d get a kick out of yesterday’s fortune. When my husband nudged it toward me, I flashed back to that mob movie with Hugh Grant. I actually looked around for the woman who kept saying, “Eat the “effin” cookie.” LOL!

    Ken, I really do need to find that cookie column. Especially since I put the fortunes somewhere safe and promptly forgot where. ;/

  5. I am not a brat. 😉

    And I have horrible luck with fortune cookies.

  6. relliott4 says:

    I say that in the most affectionate way possible. Besides, I love brats. (g)

  7. Karen says:

    Only 4 (well, 5) queries out there so far and they’ve *all* requested material… That’s such good going! 🙂

Leave a Reply

