Waiting Game

waiting.jpg 

Is anyone else on WordPress having “blog stat” issues?  I’m not showing any familiar links, just this huge gathering of visits off image pages.  Weird. 

Writing update:  Still working the long photo project, so writing is going slowly.  Catching up on critique work at night.  My mind is buzzing with ideas for BOAA, though, and I’m soooo anxious to get back into a better schedule here.

Haven’t heard back from any of the agents who requested material last week, but I did hear back from one who has had a short snail mail query about a month and a half.  She had very nice things to say, but it was a no go.  She did recommend another agent, including contact info.  That hasn’t happened before. 

Ironically, the agent she recommended is the very next one on my list.  Weird, eh? 

I’m going to wait to hear back from a couple more before sending out another mass of queries.  Okay.  Yes.  I’m a little hopeful on those still out. 🙂

Status:

Queried 6 agents total.
2 are a no go
3 still have partials.
1 still has the full.

The support offered from fellow writers right now is phenomenal.  I especially love the ‘any news’ emails from some.  😉  You all rock!! 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting Game

  1. Celise says:

    Hey! I see you’re doing the Going Traditional route, too. Unlike you, I probably should’ve been more discreet with the process . Oh well, live and learn. The second time around, I’ll do better. Thanks for the update. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  2. tezmilleroz says:

    My current problem with WordPress is that it doesn’t seem to be crossposting my Blogspot stuff. Not sure how to fix this. The “Import” thing at WordPress only has a button for changing/adding authors, so I can’t seem to solve this problem. Then again, I only joined WordPress a few days ago 😉

    All the best to you, and have a lovely day! 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    I keep checking back here, living in hope! Good luck this week – waiting is awful, but at least you’ve got tons to keep you busy… 😉

  4. Michele says:

    I have so many things to say and that I could say.. I guess this sums it up… YOU GO GIRL!!

  5. Good luck with the queries.

    I haven’t had any issues with wordpress, but as you know I haven’t been on here much the past few days.

  6. Good luck with all the queries–the right agent will find you and be better off for it!

    ~BT

  7. relliott4 says:

    Brooke, your book is up for pre-order, isn’t it? Yay!!! Rachel’s new one went up today, too.

    Struggling Writer, that little one of yours has been having a rough time. I’m glad she’s running around again.

    Celise, you’re querying too?

    Tez, I gave up having two blogs. Didn’t want to mess with the import stuff. Eck.

    Thanks Karen and Michele! I hope I have good news soon.

  8. Celise says:

    LOL. Yes. I’ve been chronicaling the process on my blog: “Going Traditional”. I’m done with the first round of querying, though. I started in February. I submitted to a little over 70 agencies. 43 rejections later, I’ve come to realize that I need to revise again. I’ll be trying again next year.

  9. relliott4 says:

    43?? Oh man. That is so tough, I can’t even imagine. But I could very well be heading for such a thing.

    I hope your next attempt is more successful.

Leave a Reply

