I Love My CP and Submission Update

Look what my cp,  Rachel Vincent , sent me to cheer me up.  It worked.  This is the best thing.  Ever!

http://www.elfyourself.com/?id=1240209971 

Okay, I’ll spill about one of my bad pieces of news yesterday–the writing related one. 

One of the agents–one I was quite excited about–was looking for something a little different.  She was very helpful in her comments– did make me rethink the beginning to my novel, because the rest of it is sooooo very close to what she’s looking for.  I am considering reworking that section, but don’t want to yet since one of the others may like it as is.  

But, as every submitting writer knows, the agent search can be full of difficult responses.  Some hit you harder than others. 

So, current submission update is:

3 Agents are a no.  (One form letter (Unfortunately, she had my “too wordy” original query), two personal with compliments–one referred me to a popular fantasy agent.)
3 Still have partials.  (Two seemed enthusiastic.  One has my “too wordy” original.  Eek.)
1 new E-query. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Love My CP and Submission Update

  1. Te really sad thing is that the elf-me dances so much better than the real me. 😉

  2. relliott4 says:

    I love how off they are–steps aren’t together in the least.

  3. relliott4 says:

    I meant how off “we” are.

  4. tezmilleroz says:

    I suggest reworking the beginning, but not submitting it unless asked to. Definitely let that particular agent have it, since they were helpful 🙂

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  5. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I wouldn’t submit a partial–or resubmit unless asked. I am thinking of reworking and asking if she’d like to see it again, but I think she’s looking for a different sort of uf.

    I actually went the submission route about eight years ago–not to agents, but I was pretty close to selling. Had an editor asking for rewrites when she left the company. I think that was the thing that left me the most discouraged. It’s also why I’m going the agent route this time.

  6. Karen says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you’re so close! You know you’re a great writer – and you can write something worthy of publication – you just have to hit the *right* agent/market for your voice and the angle you take on UF. Maybe you’ll get a request for a full from one of those other three agents. Good luck! 🙂

  7. relliott4 says:

    Karen, you made me grin. You’re right, one of the others may just love it. And if not, I have the next five ready to go. My UF is certainly something different, so I knew going into this that it might be a bit difficult.

  8. Michele says:

    Girl, I am so sorry! But at least you got some feedback instead of just a ‘no’ in the shape of a form letter.

    You have three more out there, something good will happen!

    YOU GO GIRL!!!

Leave a Reply

