Ice Storms, Blog News and Slush Piles

This ice storm is rough!  We’re all staying inside, but watching my beautiful trees suffer and crack is really harsh.  We have these huge, gorgeous Bradford pears that line our winding driveway and they look like they’re cracking in half.  Limbs have been cracking off all over.  It took us two years to find this house because we wanted one with big, old trees.   Finding an acre of huge trees in this part of Oklahoma was a chore.  Finding one with a house we loved– even more so.  I’m going to miss them if they all lose the battle to the ice.

I’ve been fighting a flu, so my usual wit is all twisted up and snotty.  So… how about some of Net stuff?

Rachel Vincent is building a gingerbread house.  Melted jolly ranchers for stained glass windows?  Whoa.  She’s brave.

Vicki Pettersson, feeling mildly threatened (yeah, right 😉  ) by Rachel, who does these things while kicking everyone’s butt in word count, posted a smackdown.

Gena Showalter’s book Savor Me Slowly (with the most wickedly fantastic cover) is getting great reviews!!! 

savormeslowlycover.jpg Read about this book here!

T.L. Schaefer is going the submission rounds with me.  She can use cheerleaders, too. 🙂

Sarah, from the Smart Bitches, a lady I happen to like–a lotwaxes poetic over the subject of series books over at romancenovel.tv.  She’s not the biggest fan.  Uh oh, I write series books.  But…. I write UF with romantic elements, not straight romance, so hopefully there’s a little give and take here.  Honestly?  I may be crazy about this lady but fear the day she gets her hands on one of my books. heh heh.  I will say this.  “Sarah, my series does have a happy ending…. as of now.”  Muwhahahahahah

Many authors are posting slush pile stories on Fangs, Fur & Fey.  I’m finding them particularly painful right now, so after the first few, I decided to save them for later.  But some did offer much inspiration. 

Many know I’m going through the submission phase right now, but what a lot of you don’t know is I did this before.  Spent a few years doing it. I never tried for an agent, though.  I went directly to editors.  Got close enough to have one interested in rewrites on two books when she abruptly left the publishing house.  It had taken me over a year to work through her slush pile, so as you can imagine, I was a bit discouraged.  But I got up the courage to give it a stronger go this time–through an agent. 

I’m still waiting, with my bated, flu-tinged breath, for one to fall in love with my story.  Was hoping for great news to share with my OKRWA group should I be well and our state thawed in time for the party this weekend.  These ladies have believed in me for years.  😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ice Storms, Blog News and Slush Piles

  1. Celise says:

    I’m a an online forum for YA writers and the overall suggestion was get an agent first. I told myself that I would stop at 100 rejections. I didn’t think about submitting to editors. I was under the impression that they didn’t accept unsolicited MS’s. So, you actually submitted to editors of publishing houses?

Leave a Reply

