Trees? Many Down. Power. NONE!!!!

I was upset about the trees.  STill am, but this is a quick post just to update.  I’m using precious generator power and a dial-up to give explanation to my lack of responses on emails. 

We’ve been without power two days.  Since we’re on a well, that means no water, either.  We had filled up bathtubs so we’d have refill water for toilets and it’s been fun running through the house with freezing cold pitchers of water for the half bath.  My bathroom is always cold in the winter, but right now, it’s unbelievabe.  So, the halfbath is closest to the fireplace–hence the running with cold pitchers. <g>

I never realized just how much we rely on electricity for stuff.  I’ve been boiling water for washing, etc. 

So, we finally got a small generator today–which was a miracle considering the rush on these babies.  It’s got the heat going in the downstairs, so we’re trying to figure out how to keep it from just floating upstairs.  The refrigerator and freezer are going, but I have to cook up a lot of thawed things.  I can plug in something electric here and there.  (So of course I get online to see if I had any full or partial requests–uh, none.)

My flu got worse so this has been interesting to say the least.  Anyway, I’ll obviously be posting little the next few days, but will return as soon as I have things going a little better here.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trees? Many Down. Power. NONE!!!!

  1. Michele says:

    Hang blankets to keep the heat from going upstairs. It works great!! Of course, you need to be able to spare the blankets!

    You can always to what the construction people do, and use that clear plastic stuff and hang that.. It may be unsightly but you gotta keep warm!!

    Good luck girl, I wish you the best, stay snuggled and get rid of that crude sucking the life outta yer body!!!

  2. Oh, Rinda, I’m sorry about your trees. Bradford pears are beautiful, but fragile things. Kathy lost the ones in her front yard two years ago. I’ve been fortunate. Even the dead limb, the one I wanted to fall, didn’t. Albus and Minnie don’t like this weather. They spend a lot of the time in the garage. I tried the crate, but they whine. And now they’re big mud balls. Don’t call the ASPCA, I do have heat arunning for them in the garage. 🙂

    I’m sending you a hug. This flu thing is harsh. I still have the vertigo associated with it, and it’s been 3 weeks!

    Here’s hoping your power comes on soon. Love you.
    ~Sara

  3. Carol says:

    Total sympathy here. We’ve had no power since Sunday night. We’re staying with Karl’s mom. She has no power but she has a gas fireplace we can use for heat and heating food as well as a gas heater in the den, so we may be in the dark but we’re warm. I miss my hair dryer. Have to charge the cell and computer at work, check email etc. Hang in there and feel better. I have lots of limbs down but the lady next door has half a tree down. I’m praying my whole freezer doesn’t unthaw before we get power. The house is certainly cold enough but the kitties seem to be fine and I check on them daily.

  4. Oh Rinda–my fingers are corssed that your power will be back very soon. And I hope you start feeling better!

Leave a Reply

