Things I’ve Learned Recently

Without Electricity, that is…

 image3605536.jpg

You spend an extraordinary amount of time just making life work. 

Seriously.  Laundry, dishes, food, warmth, cleaning… all these things are easier with electricity.  We had four days without power and nearly all those hours were spent figuring out how to keep life going.  One day, I managed to spend working at my paying job, but the other three were spent cleaning, getting firewood, figuring out wattages for the generator…  the smallest things took more time than expected, so life has been different—to say the least.

Staying warm was the primary need and it became our number one focus.  I have kids.  Making sure they have what they need takes up plenty of time normally—when you’re without electricity, it’s pretty much all the time.  Laundry became a freaking pain in the butt.  I finally sorted it and worked out a solution and while we were implementing that solution, the power came on. 

So, many unexpected expenses later, we’re back to regular Christmas season stuff.  Expecting  a new storm to hit tonight, but I’m more than ready this time.

I’ll have to spend next week making up lost time to my employer. 

But many good things came from this week.  I learned that good lighting is essential to cleaning.  Heh heh.  I also went through all my old half-finished manuscripts and realized that some of this stuff is way better than I remembered. 

So… I’m going to take a month to finish an older manuscript.  It’s a contemporary romantic suspense—more than half written – and I can whip it into shape in no time.  If I do manage to snag the interest of an agent, I’ll have more than one manuscript ready.  Good, yes? 

So look for a new toolbar in the column to the right soon–it will give you an update on the progress of Wired.  I’ll be changing the title since a recent Shomi book already claimed it.  But yes, it’s about computer hacking and lurve…. heh heh

Other than that, I learned that down time is good for a busy family of four.  We actually spent hours together, talking, working together to make our lives work.  I’m crazy about my kids and the last week has shown me that they are turning into some fantastic, self-sufficient human beings.  Gives me lots to look forward to. J

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I’ve Learned Recently

  1. Tez Miller says:

    Aw, what I like most about you is that you can find positives in bad situations. Like with the car the other day. And now the storm. Optimism is so rare, and you’re lucky to have it 🙂

    Those ice photos freak me out. Even though they depict bad stuff, they still look so pretty. To me, that is. Does this make me weird? I’m feeling somewhat guilty…

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    P.S. And you have to put up with tornadoes in Oklahoma – I don’t know if you’re an optimist or a masochist 😉

  2. I remember bonding with my kids (Christmas of 2004) when we all had a stomach virus that put us on our backs, forcing us to crawl to bathroom. A cozy pile of blankets and towels were near to use as needed, we watched family programming, and there was a lot of moaning and playing games, like guessing what a favorite clear liquid. Good times.

    But seriously, I love every moment they are forced to be with me. 😉

    If all of that had happened with the power out, though… I might have needed to be institutionalized. You are a serious trooper, Rinda.

    Very happy you and son are better, and that y’all are warm and together. 🙂

  3. that would be guessing our favorite clear liquids…

  4. relliott4 says:

    That’s the thing with these ice storms. They are really, very, very beautiful. They just take down trees and power lines. I love to look outside, but this year the beauty came with some difficult cold. With the humidity here, the cold crept inside and we have a wonderfully insulated home. I worry for those who are without power still… and in less insulated buildings.

    Honestly, every spring, I want to move. I’m not so positive during tornado season. I’ve seen one up close and personal and it was the most terrifying thing ever. So noisy and big and destructive!

    I’m trying to remain optimistic these days. I’ve had a lot of personal family stuff happen that I don’t share on the blog–it’s been tiring to say the least. But, writing and what’s happening there is the main focus of this site, so in that, I’m working to see the positive. It helps to have readers like you–from across the globe even!– to share in the news. 🙂

  5. relliott4 says:

    Heather, you are definitely one of those things that keeps me going. I love the phone call–even if my flu made me incoherent in the beginning.

    Families just run all over the place these days. It’s kind of sad that illness slows us down enough to bond–but hey, at least something does. heh heh

Leave a Reply

