Writer Friends–As Necessary as Breathing

  writing.jpg

I got one of the best gifts last year for Christmas.  A writer friend gave me a green velvet journal and she took the time to pen a writer’s quote at the top of every single page.   She’s a good friend and both of us work too hard, so we don’t get to see each other as much as we’d like.  I’m going to do my best to change that this next year. 

As for the journal, I haven’t been able to bring myself to write in it. <g>  I move it around the house, pick it up when I need a lift and read a random page.  These are all excellent quotes, so I’m going to put one here with every post until I go through the entire journal.    (They will be at the top of each one from here on out.)  The first one, is of course, about friendship. 

“All writers need a good friend with whom they can share their fervor, and who will believe in them.”  Rachel Simon

I’m lucky in this respect.  While I have people in my life who call this my “hobby” or don’t give it the respect I feel they should (heh heh), the level of support I get from writer friends keeps me going.  We are, in truth, the only ones who can truly understand each other. 

I just, in fact, got off the phone with one who offered a pep talk before brainstorming with me.  Doesn’t get better than that. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writer Friends–As Necessary as Breathing

  1. I can’t imagine my life without you and the others that “get” me and my writing and “get” the hazards and benefits. 🙂

  2. Celise says:

    Okay, all I have to say to that is: AMEN!

  3. Writer friends are the ones who worry about us and understand what we are about. Couldn’t do without all of you. Carol

  4. Too true, Rinda! That journal sounds lovely 🙂

  5. CJ says:

    Aw shucks, you made me teary…and feeling bad I gritched at you last time we talked. You know it’s ’cause I worry. Can’t wait for our next get-together.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Me neither. Working way too hard right now.

Leave a Reply

