Does This Happen to You?

“The will to keep trying is often the difference between success and failure”-Davie Sarnoff

woman.jpg

Ever pick up a popular fiction book by a favorite author and become so impressed by their style and talent with words… that icky self doubt comes creeping in to call?  You start to look at your own work as kindergarten-like cave drawings in comparison? 

If so, which authors and why?  I’ll share two of mine.

Nora Roberts.  Because reading her sentences is like spreading warm chocolate icing on a cookie.  Her turns of phrase are so smooth, they melt in your mouth.  And the way she makes it seem effortless?  Bah.  I’d be jealous if I didn’t love her books so damned much.  I have so many of them, too, including the very first Silhouette–it’s signed, too.

Kim Harrison.  For the sheer, electric energy and character consistency.  For the magic and excitement and emotion.  She also made me bawl like a baby in her last book.  This is a good thing.  I’ve had a hard time escaping into fiction completely the last couple of years.  She never fails to suck me into Rachel Morgan’s world and for that, I owe her many thanks.

Now that my work is out there making the rounds, I’m mostly excited and hopeful.  But every now and then, I’ll get the urge to yank it back home and work on it some more. 

Stupid perfectionist tendencies

I will share a little tip. 

Don’t EVER go the agent submission route during the holidays.  What was I thinking? I only have three more possible business days to get the Christmas present I want most. <g>

EDIT:  Agent Update:

3 Agents with different parts of manuscripts–requested.

2 Queried (Yes, I sent out another.  Today, in fact.  What can I say?  Glutton for punishment. 😉  )

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Does This Happen to You?

  1. Ken says:

    Merry Christmas and I hope VERY MUCH that you get what you want for Christmas.

    You have a nice turn of a phrase yourself, Rinda. Whatever it is that you want for the holidays, I hope you get. PLUS some relief from the snow that you have been having.

  2. relliott4 says:

    Thanks Ken! So do you!

    It’s probably too late to get what I wanted for Christmas, but I’m sure the agents are swamped with work and holiday stuff like the rest of us.

    You have a wonderful holiday season!!!!!

  3. Carol says:

    Holidays and getting any business done is a lost cause. But I firmly believe you will make it. Dean Koontz with his imagery, S. King with some of his characterization, Charlaine Harris and her characterization, Jim Butcher and the pacing of his action. Those are a few who do it for me.
    Have a wonderful Christmas and I hope for you to get your heart’s desire. Carol

  4. Missy says:

    Ah, Rinda! Don’t fret, you have a huge fan base that is praying for you to get your heart’s desire. 😉

    As for authors I love that also make me feel inadequate… Julia Quinn. I enjoy many authors, but Quinn never fails to suck me into a story, make me feel the characters emotions and impress me with the ease in which she does so.

  5. relliott4 says:

    Good wishes and prayers are always welcome! Thanks.

    I’m cool with it–expecting such a fast turnaround this time of year was a bit silly on my part. Heh heh. I think my hopes for fast replies got out of order when I had the flurry of requests. I’ll be just as happy to hear from them after Christmas, too.

    Ah, Julia Quinn. She and I used to be in this online community–years ago. In fact, when she published, we were the exact same age and I remember thinking I’d be up soon. LOL! I’ve never read one of her books, but I’ve heard wonderful things about them!

    Carol, your list rocks!!

  6. Just wanted to wish you Very Happy Holidays! I hope you get the gift you most want, even if it means waiting until the new year. 🙂

    p.s. Do you know, I’ve NEVER read a Kim Harrison book. I can’t believe it! Must fix that…

  7. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I hope you do. Start with Dead Witch Walking. Now, it’s very different from Miss Nora. 😉

    You have a wonderful holiday season, too!

  8. Bellezza says:

    I absolutely love, and believe in, that quote about the will to keep trying is often the difference between success and failure. I am nothing if not persistant, and it always comes to good. Eventually. I tried for my National Board Certification (for teaching) THREE times. I couldn’t have lived with myself if I didn’t pass. Keep trying, you will fulfill your dreams. I know you will.

  9. Hi again,

    Just to let you know – I bought Dead Witch Walking today. It’s long past time. I love Urban Fantasy and don’t know why it took me two years to get around to reading this series. I’ll let you know what I think! 🙂

  10. Harry says:

    I found out that I have these books from Kim Harrison! Three of four of them. I just buy books without even reading them. Never having the time is one reason, but still. Now I am hooked and reading! Thank you for the wonderful recommendations!

    To tell you the truth I never like my works, compared to all other authors out there they seem either too simple or too lavished. Grr for that!

  11. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I’m glad you like her. She’s responsible for getting me back in the writing chair. 🙂

    I always feel that way when I do comparisons. The best advice I can offer is to remember that your way may be different, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t as different and fresh as theirs. It’s hard to be subjective about our own work, though. Wait, make that objective. I’m kind of ill and punchy today.

Leave a Reply

