Requesting a Little Magic

pen.jpg

I need to be writing.  The ideas have boiled up and are spilling over.  I need a little magic to take away all these holiday, school break and work distractions. 

Before Christmas, I happened along one agent’s blog and got an idea of the astronomical odds.  She received about 8000 queries this year.  She only requested 49 partials and 18 fulls out of that number.  She ended up signing six new clients.

And she said that was high.

Yowch. 

Is this going to make me stop trying to find one who loves my work? 

Nope.   But it sure does put things into perspective, doesn’t it?  😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Requesting a Little Magic

  1. The odds are definitely stacked against us, but we wouldn’t be writers if we didn’t keep on trying – no matter what! 🙂

  2. Carol says:

    If we worried about the odds, we’d crawl in a hole so we just have to pretend we don’t know, it doesn’t apply to us and do it anyway. Carol

  3. A 50 percent request rate is still awesome!

  4. Harry says:

    I gotta admit that the numbers are scary. Me and Math have been adversaries since the dawn of my birth, so I won’t cower before them. Perspective is good to have. It supplies spiritual strength and roots you down to Earth.
    Good luck in your quest!

Leave a Reply

