Sunday Morning Surprise

zone2.jpg

I spent the morning in a place much like this one. 

In my mind.

I’m talking the walled-in solitude feel of the place–my actual fictional world was a Florida marsh.

Yep, I was sucked into the Writing Zone and when I came up for air, it was to answer a call from the hubby.  I was surprised he was asking how things were going when he’d just asked that in another phone call.  Then I looked at the clock.

I lost nearly four hours to writing.  Gone.  I’m still in my pajama pants—well, really his since they’re long and warm and all flannelly–I haven’t eaten.  My coffee is by my laptop, cold and forgotten… my hair is still curly and everywhere from the nightly battle with my pillow.   I’m sure my morning breath has grown to a nightmare inducing state since it’s now afternoon. 

But get this… I have a new first chapter!  It’s almost done and wow, it incorporates the info I needed to get across while managing to be way more active.   While I like the original with its atmospheric descriptions, I really feel it was the main culprit to the agent hesitations.  Now I’ve got atmosphere with ass kicking. 😉

4,571 words written while wrapped in the fog of my fictional world.

Cool.

Wait… where are my children?     

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Morning Surprise

  1. 4,500 words! Wow, that’s amazing! It’s been a while since I was in The Zone… I hope to be back there in January… 🙂

  2. tezmilleroz says:

    Aw, I’m so proud of your progress 🙂 And more than a little envious. Mind you, I’m in 41C (circa 105F) weather in an unconditioned home, and I have Celtic blood, and the Celts are from cold countries… Did I mention that hot weather makes me bitchy? 😉

    Well done, and have a lovely day! 🙂

  3. Terri says:

    You ROCK, woman!!! I got 3100 done today, so surpassed my “vacation” goal…damn, when can I quit the day job and do this all the time *g*

  4. Your word counts blow me away, girl. We know you’ll find boththe right agent and publisher for you, just a matter of time which is the most difficult thing, time and waiting. Have a great New Year’s Eve. Carol

  5. X. Dell says:

    That’s a hell of a lot of production for four hours.

    I wouldn’t worry about the kids, though. They couldn’t have gone too far.

  6. Ken says:

    Way to go! Keep track of those children.

  7. relliott4 says:

    I always know where my kids are. heh heh

    Tez! You must be going nuts! I prefer cold weather over hot any day.

    Hope you all had a wonderful New Year and that every one of you have Lost in the Zone days. 🙂

  8. Harry says:

    Wow, that is a great amount of words there done for four hours. Congrats on it and just in four hours. Did your fingers bleed???
    So far I have managed to write only 2500 as a top record a day, because my mind gets bugged after a while and quality just steps down. What is the book about?

  9. relliott4 says:

    When I’m writing full time, I average around 2500 to 3000 words a day. It took much practice and consistency for me to get into that routine, too. Any more than that, and yeah, my mind gets bugged, too.

    I’m writing an urban fantasy. It’s a combination of horror, fantasy and some romance. The first book in the series is done and currently being marketed to agents–I see from the comments that you know this. 😉 What’s it about? Well, I don’t plan to post a blurb until I actually do have it sold, but it has to do with an old theosophical idea. I took the idea and turned it into a scary villain and I use a lot of Greek myth and even a line-up of mass murderers and serial killers from over centuries. And oh yeah, a lead character who learns she can kick butt and peel into dimensional layers. In a nutshell, I had a blast writing this and will hopefully get to sell it as a series and write more. I fell in love with all the characters. 😉

  10. Barrie Summy says:

    That’s a lot of words! Don’t you just love it when you get lost in the writing? May 2008 be filled with such experiences!

  11. Harry says:

    I think the idea is interesting, mixing genres, theme and everything else into a mosaic is always alluring. Hybrids are interesting and sought for. Even though your description is vague, it makes me want to read the book. I am certain that after a long series of big spelled NO, you will get a Yes, because that is how life goes. I would like it to happen the other way around, where you send, get yes, get the book released and you live happily ever after as author! (excerpt from fairy tales for writers)

    Well this is my little introduction. I am a fantasy writer and like to branch out in all subgenres and now I am in the middle of my novel, which is urban fantasy and in the mean time I thought it would be great to start a blog and get socializing! Wahoo.

  12. relliott4 says:

    Branching out is good. I’ve a couple of romantic suspense novels I’m finishing up to sell as well. I hope to break into horror eventually–maybe even a mainstream, literary book. I’ve already outlined one.

    Ideas are not a problem–not at all. Writing time seems to be my biggest obstacle at this point.

    Good luck with your UF!

    Welcome Barrie! Yes, trapped in the writing zone is the best place to be!

Leave a Reply

