Express in Language

 staircase.jpg

“The good writer, the great writer, has what I have called the three S’s: the power to see, to sense, and to say.  That is, he is perceptive, he is feeling, and he has the power to express in language what he observes and reacts to.”

Lawrence Clark Powell

I think sometimes, we have to take a slower pace, pay attention and dig as deeply as possible to find our best expression.   Hope this new year gives you all plenty of excavation time. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Express in Language

  1. Laura says:

    I just read this book “On Great Writing” written by a classical greek rhetorician, and he said something uncannily similar. He believed great writing was constituted first by a great mind, then by great emotion, then by the exceptional expression of those two by great writing.

    Funny to essentially read that twice in a week.

  2. relliott4 says:

    Oh Laura, that book sounds great. Just what I need right now. 🙂

    Happy new year to you, too, Celise! Good luck on the new project!

  3. Harry says:

    Happy New Year! I am visiting for the first time, but I love the blog already.
    The quote was inspiring and combined with that i want to wish to you many words to fill your pages. The New Year must be celebrated with new stories!

  4. relliott4 says:

    Welcome Harry! I’m glad you like the blog and hope you continue to find inspiration here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

