More Queries

stones.jpg

Worked on my payjob all day yesterday, then spent the night writing query letters. 

I’m finding that first paragraph to be the hardest part.  I research every agent I query.  I read their websites, blogs–I look for interviews on blogs, etc.  But unless they’ve been recommended or I’ve met them at conference, that little personalized section feels off.  So, I usually end up reading more on them, then winging it.  Some say they love fantasy, horror, romance… some say they love to see all genres of romance.  Deciding whether urban fantasy would be included in that list is fun.  I’m one of those authors who never sends out blind queries–I don’t feel it’s right to waste someone’s time if they aren’t even interested in my genre.

I love my query letter.  It’s short and to the point and gives the plot in a paragraph, but there are aspects to this story that set it apart.  My main villain is something I haven’t read about and is based on some theosophical ideals.  I’d love to incorporate that into the query, but then the thing would be too long. 

So each time, I hope they ask for the synopsis and sample chapters. 🙂

Last night, I sent out three new queries and touched base with an agent who already has it.  I woke up this morning to a no from one who asks for a query only.  That’s why I spent the morning questioning that query of mine. <g> 

So, as of now, there are still seven agents looking at my work.  One is even giving it a second look.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Queries

  1. Carol says:

    Well, you know my theory already. If they’re smart they will snap it right up. Not all agents are smart enough to realize you have an urban fantasy with great new ideas that will be so big once someone jumps on the band wagon and it’s not the usual tired were and vampire and witch idea. Where are their heads?

    BTW, go to my blog and see the nice review for Fairy Dust. I was so tickled.
    http://carol-carolsinkspot.blogspot.com
    Keep those queries flying.

  2. relliott4 says:

    Heh heh, I don’t think smart has anything to do with it. It’s taste. The agents I’m querying might not feel the were, vampire and witch ideas are tiring. They might not be interested in my Beri–who is certainly different. Plus, my witch in the book plays a prominent roll and will even more so in the next book.

    It’s also about what they have time for, what they feel they can sell, whether they think we’d work together well.

    I’ll find that match. I have no hard feelings for the ones who don’t feel the match themselves–but I do look forward to the one who does.

    Carol!! I saw that review and it’s wonderful!! Congratulations!!

  3. Harry says:

    Hey there,

    I am definitely wishing you luck with the queries! I think people should start thinking about something new. Vamps, were and witch are everywhere and I enjoy them very much, but fresh blood must be added. Mythology must come into the scene and so does philosophy. I haven’t read it, but back a while, when you described it, it sounds like something I would want to read.

  4. Ken says:

    Rinda,
    You know, it’s weird. When I first started reading your blog I read something about your urban fantasy milieu and I was under the understanding that you were already published. I don’t always read very carefully. Anyway, that being said, I know you will get published because I can feel your empathy for people, the excitement and action in your work (I did read that fight scene), and can see your attention to detail and character. Rah Rah!

  5. relliott4 says:

    I am published. Quite a bit. But it’s all been short stories, articles and poetry. And… I’ve only been paid for the short fiction and poems.

    But, I’d like to publish my novels now and possibly make a small living at it. Want to get back to writing full time.

    I haven’t submitted a short story in a long while–I set all that aside to work on the novels.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I don’t advertise all the short fiction on this site, because it has been awhile and unfortunately, the last magazine I did have a horror piece in, folded. They don’t even have a website now. 😦

Leave a Reply

