Surgery, Sci-Fi, Agents and Wine! ;)

sci.jpg

Okay, now that I’m past the hard phase, I’ll admit that I recently had surgery.  Already, I can tell that this is going to benefit my life in big ways.  I wasn’t going to share but this blog is still about one writer’s life while she attempts to get her book length fiction published and hopefully, it’ll turn into a blog about the times after that goal as well. 😉

Thing is, even with the health issues last year, I finished a huge book and got pretty far into another.  So, there’s no telling what I’ll accomplish now that the havoc creating parts are history. 

So, I’ve been recuperating and I have to be still.  For a long, long time.  Oh, this isn’t easy for me.  I’m used to a pretty hectic schedule and I usually manage to fit writing in it no matter what.  So, I thought all this stillness would equate to lots of writing.  It is now, but not the first week and a half.  I think the pain pills had something to do with that.  😉

So, I finished critiquing Rachel’s side project–and enjoyed it very much!  Then, I watched a lot of movies.  My favorite zombie,vampire and alien movies.  Some sappy, good romances like Love Actually, Return to Me and Practical Magic.  Lots of silly comedies that should be on my “guilty pleasures” lists.  Movies like Grandma’s Boy, Clerks, Clerks II.  Yeah, I like the Clerks movies.  They have some sick stuff, but that whole Silence of the Lambs reenactment KILLS me!

In all the comedies, there are periods where they make fun of nerds.  Nerds, to the folks who really have no business looking down on anyone, are those that dig sci-fi and fantasy stuff.   JP in Grandma’s Boy who loves Buffy.  The silly kid in Clerks II who loves the Lord of the Rings movies.  I can’t remember which movie, but someone even made fun of fans of Alien and Aliens. 

What??? 

I am unashamedly a huge science fiction and fantasy fan. 

And I love the first two movies in the Alien series like I love freaking AIR.  (The third movie just pissed me off, so I won’t discuss it and the fourth had too much over-the-top Ripley behavior and well, I giggled too much to enjoy it–Oh, except for the scene underwater–there’s a reason Jaws is one of my top ten creepy films.)  But one and two?  Wonderful!!  That first movie sets a fascinating futuristic world and leads into a pretty scary scenario.  Can you imagine being locked in a spaceship with that thing?  And Ripley rocked then. 

As for Buffy?  Yeah, I was a fan.  For an hour on Tuesday nights, I was so happy to have television.  And I didn’t get into the show until around season three or four.  But let me just say, the dialogue was worth the hour a week all by itself. 

So, I’m proud to be a nerd or better yet, a Sci-Fi Punk.

——-

Agent Update

I had a request for a partial and a request for a full.  Yay! 

The first request came last week when I couldn’t lift my printer to change the ink.  My printer has a defective part and you have to roll this knob on the bottom until a bar falls from in front of the cartridges.  So, I didn’t get the partial out right away.  Had to get the hubby to hold up the printer while I rolled the thing underneath. <g>  But it’s out in the mail and possibly already on her desk. 

The full was requested from an agent who actually read the new beginning and she seemed to really like it, so I’m excited.  It’s being printed this afternoon when the hubby brings home more paper.  I can’t drive for another couple of weeks so he’s taking up the slack–poor guy. 🙂

I know the odds of snagging an agent are difficult, but I still wonder what I’ll do should more than one like my work.  It’ll be hard to choose.  I’ve only queried my top choices so far.

Edit:  Oh, I’ve also decided to jump fully back into my wine making.  I’ll be starting two new batches–hopefully in the next couple of weeks as soon as I can get someone to drive me to the Brew Shop.  I’m doing a merlot and a chardonnay.  I’m also thinking of trying my hand at brewing beer.  I’ve done wine for years, so it might be fun to try something different.  I’ll be putting in updates on the wine and how it’s going.  I get a lot of visits from people wanting to learn more about making wine.

Good fiction and wine.  Does it get any better than that?
About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Movies, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Surgery, Sci-Fi, Agents and Wine! ;)

  1. Yay!! for the requests. Exciting news, especially having another full out there. Congrats! 🙂

    And I hope you recover soon. Keep resting!

  2. relliott4 says:

    I should be dancing. Well, in spirit. Having so many requests is good. I keep telling myself that when I do get turned down. The funny thing is, nearly all of the rejections have said wonderful things–so it’s down to which one “really” feels it, you know?

    Have you started sending stuff out yet, Karen?

  3. Tez Miller says:

    Dear, dear Rinda…you’re not just a writer; you are also a person – and that’s why we like you 🙂 By all means don’t feel as if you have to talk about writing all the time; remember, you’re human 😉

    My dad used to make home-brew when he was unemployed. Don’t think he ever tried to make wine, but we sure get a lot of it delivered to our house.

    All the best for your recovery, and have a lovely day! 🙂

  4. relliott4 says:

    My agent hunt is so important to me, I was worried that posting health issues might scare one away. So, now that we know what was causing the problems and took care of it, I can share. Nothing will slow me down now. 🙂

    You have wine delivered to your house? Oh my. How does one go about getting wine delivered??

  5. I’ve never seen the Clerks movies. Hubs has had friends rec those movies and we haven’t gotten around to watching them yet.

  6. Tez Miller says:

    My dad subscribes to a lot of wine clubs. They often have a deals such as ordering 6 bottles for a reduced price, or something. You order, they get delivered to your door. Simple.

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  7. relliott4 says:

    There is a truly sick part in the second Clerks movie–very, very gag worthy. But I like the dialogue and the relationships, etc. Jay and Silent Bob crack me up.

    A lot of people have told me they found them boring–but I have a strange sense of humor anyway. I thought Idiocracy was awful, yet I watch it when it’s on and crack up. “Why come you don’t have a tattoo?”

  8. relliott4 says:

    Okay, I must find these wine clubs!

  9. Way to go Rinda! I hope everything goes as smoothly as it can get with the healing process. Trust me recovering from every kind of operation is just painful and well I know from experience.

    Congrats on the requests and well it’s just exciting! Hope you score an agent soon.

  10. Sunny Lyn says:

    I love Kevin Smith movies – Josh turned me onto them (of course).

    Glad you’re over the hard part – the health will keep getting better and better now. Your other body parts will reward you for getting rid of the defective ones that were dragging you all down.

    Best on agent hunt. applause on requests

    hugs, girl…

  11. Ken says:

    Rinda,
    I just finished my “Ken’s Love It or Hate It Chicken.” I haven’t perfected it yet, but I’m sure it would go well with some of your wine.

    Hope you have a quick and speedy recovery from your surgery.

  12. Laura says:

    Here’s to a quick recovery!

    By the way, I never realized how convoluted the plot of the Angel series was until I had to explain it last Monday to a group of people who’d never seen the show. I kept having to repeat, “But it all makes sense when you watch the show.” People who make fun of sci-fi & fantasy fans are people with NO IMAGINATION.

  13. I have started querying agents, but not going too crazy with it yet – I’ve been sending them out gradually. 🙂

    So far I’ve had 4 form rejections, 3 requests for partials, and 1 personal rejection off one of those. Not bad, considering it’s my first completed novel. There’s a long way to go, yet, though!

  14. relliott4 says:

    Yay on the requests, Karen! I think gradual is good–it’s how I’m doing it. But I haven’t found that many agents who have UF listed as a desire either. I’m dreading a time when I might exhaust all those who handle my genre and have to start submitting to slush piles at the publishers directly.

  15. Hopefully you won’t have to! Things are looking good for you so far, so fingers-crossed. 🙂

  16. Carol says:

    Fantastic about the requests, now if they would get off their respective butts and sign you up. So glad you’re feeling better. Wine for conference??? I’ve seen those wine clubs that deliver but haven’t given in yet, I spend too much on books ordering online, if I add wine I’m really in trouble. Carol

  17. X. Dell says:

    Break a leg with the agent. If she gives you any trouble, I know a couple of guys who can break her leg, if you need it.

    But I’ve always admired your way with words. I have a good feeling about this, despite the odds.

    I know how you feel about the nerd-bashing in movies. If it weren’t for us, Hollywood couldn’t make all those sci-fi movies without going into the red.

  18. Teri Brown says:

    Good luck on the recovery!

    And I had three offers in one week after not hearing for months. So… it happens:) And that book didn’t even sell. LOL

    And I want that Olive Garden recipe…. that is my favorite soup!
    Teri

  19. relliott4 says:

    I’m getting a lot of requests for partials, but it takes months to hear back on those at times. But one agent listed the number of queries and partials she gets a week, so I get how busy they get. Oh, the wait is difficult, though, isn’t it?

    In fact, I think I have a query out to your agent. 😉

    I’ll type up the recipe and get it to you. It’s so easy and soooo worth it!

    Hi X! When you brought up your anniversary on your blog, it made me wonder how long I’ve been doing this. I launched in November of 2005. Time flies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

