Exploding Ideas and Good Writing Music

I said I had an idea for the Nocturne Bites and man, did I have an idea. 

Last night, I fleshed out three. 

odin7.jpg

With me, research can be the trigger and since I have this er, really, really, BIG thing for Norse history and mythology, I started reading and my imagination hit overload. 

As my long time readers know my name is Norse.  Rinda was a giant and one of Odin’s wives.  I’m nearly six feet in height.  Maybe I was supposed to be drawn to this stuff. 😉

(For a silly Norse story, you can read a writing topic I took on from a reader here.) 

Honestly, it’ll be a challenge to keep each story short, but a good writing challenge trips my trigger.  Since I work at home, it’s going to be hard not to reach for the stories during the day. 

Must wait until evenings! 

Until then, I think I’ll stay in the mood with some fantastic writing music.  Edgen Animations.  I own two CDs, but he makes so much of his music available on the web.  In fact, go here and explore!  There’s anything from ambient piano to epic fantasy. 

I think I’ll lean toward the dark moody for the first one. Then something a little saucy for the next…

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Exploding Ideas and Good Writing Music

  1. Great job Rinda! i will try my hand there too, but in a more apocalyptic way and/or with Greek mythology! Hope you fare well! Good luck!

  2. Tez Miller says:

    Ooh, I didn’t know your name was Norse. Did your parents know that when they chose it for you? Do you have any funky Nordic ancestors? *hopeful*

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  3. relliott4 says:

    I wish I had funky Norse ancestors. Nope. In fact, my name was going to be Winter Chalet.

    I’m soooo happy with Rinda. 😉

    I have a hodgepodge of ancestors and can trace my family back to an icky, icky person named Oliver Cromwell.

  4. Lisa Trevethan says:

    You’re a tall Scandahoovian too? I’m a Dane and I’m almost six feet tall as well. Do you ever get the equivalent of the Corvette nod, the one that says, “I feel your pain and sympathize with your ability to find pants long enough?”

    Cheers!

  5. relliott4 says:

    Yes! And just this morning, I was putting together a mental letter to all clothing designers. I want longer pants and longer sleeves! My knuckles may not drag the ground, but they come damned close.

    Wish I could claim Scandahoovian. I’m more of a mutt. Part English, German, Cherokee and who knows what. 😉

  6. Lisa Trevethan says:

    *nods*

    Dear Designers,

    We are not neaderthal nor cro-magnon but we are vertically endowed and would appreciate it if you would take that into consideration when designing you current line.

    While we are fully aware there are supposed shops for women of our stature, they apparently are not stocked for the fashion forward or even the fashion aware for that matter.

    Sincerely,

    Glamazons Everywhere

    P.S. A 31″ inseam does not constitute “Long” or “Tall” either. Just add some damn fabric!

    😉

  7. relliott4 says:

    I know! 31inches? So not long enough.

    After my recent surgery, I needed some cute draw string or yoga pants. I got so depressed shopping. Anything long enough fell off. The stuff that fit my butt, ended in the shin area. And if they were long enough, they’d shrink in the wash–so I needed too long to start.

    Which reminds me, Victoria Secret does have long yoga pants. I’ve found if I don’t throw them in the dryer and stretch them while wet, they work. 😉

  8. Lisa Trevethan says:

    I’m home today for a snow day (Detroit) and I’m wearing a pair of Vicki yoga pants as I get a rare weekday lounge around the house.

    While trying to write, of course…;)

  9. Michele says:

    Ooo. I LOVE the music! I have been looking for something like this too! Looks like I’m going to be spending some money… and that’s quiet the hottie in the profile picture on their myspace.. Oo la la!

  10. Tez Miller says:

    Lisa – Please order your Danish relatives to marry Australians. If Princess Mary from Australia is good enough for Danish royalty, then other Australians are good enough for your Danish rellies 😉

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  11. relliott4 says:

    My grandpa told me that our family was related to Princess Diana. But he also told me that he exorcised demons in South America… 😉

    You guys might like to read some funnies about him. He was such a trip. https://relliott4.wordpress.com/2007/07/27/another-phone-convo-with-reverend-grandpa/

    and

    https://relliott4.wordpress.com/2007/07/25/bye-grandpa/

    Vicky yoga pants rule, Lisa!!! Someday, we’ll have to meet at a writer’s conference and share all our tips on finding long clothing. 😉

    Hi Tez!

  12. Lisa Trevethan says:

    Tez – Heh. I’m also Brit and German but the Dane characteristics seem to dominate. If I knew any of my Danish relatives I’d send them to Australia.

    Rinda – I’ve been told that I’m related to Sir Francis Drake, Sir Francis Bacon and Elihu Yale. A pirate, an alchemist and a trader/benefactor.

    I’d love to meet at a writer’s conference. Finding clothes that fit right is quite an art and a science. Now if I could just finish this darned ms…:)

  13. I’m hoping you’ll be bringing this new story to Romance Ink this Saturday. Can’t wait to read it. 🙂

  14. relliott4 says:

    It won’t be ready that quickly. 😉

Leave a Reply

