Dream Goals Take Patience

 red.jpg

Adopt the pace of nature; her secret is patience.”    Ralph Waldo Emerson 

Sometimes, we all need a kick in the backside.  Yesterday, it was me.

Spent all day frustrated.  It was my own fault.  (Okay, partly–some of it was waiting for someone in my payjob and I’m terrible at waiting.) 

But the down deep part of my frustration was caused by a personal goal.  I started querying in earnest around last September because I was hoping to have been picked up by next weekend.

(Tip:  Never, ever set goals that are out of your hands.  I am a professional here.  I’ve published a lot of short fiction. I know the rules. Maybe it was lack of sleep or something <g>.)

But, I got up early and spent a good morning hour writing one query letter.  I had researched a particular agent and thought I might capture his attention.  But I screwed up– made my great query letter too long.  He probably got through the first paragraph before emailing the form letter back. Seriously, it was fast. <g>

Bad Rinda! 

Agents are swamped and you have to capture their attention with a short and sweet.  I’ve brought this up before and man, probably will again.  Sorry faithful readers.  I do know and understand this.  Had a moment of weakness.  Damn me. 

So, in chatting with my critique partner, Rachel, yesterday, I vented a tiny bit of my agitation.  I wondered if I should have been querying a lot more agents at a time. 

Thing is, I’m not comfortable doing that.  I research each and every agent I’ve queried.  I’d love to be picked up by any of the ones who have parts or all of my manuscript.  I’ve paid attention to their blogs, studied their clients.  I truly believe the writer/agent relationship is an important one.  It’s quite a commitment on both sides. 

So Rachel, of course, did what we do best for each other.  She suggested an alternative way to spend my time. 

“Why not focus on the new Nocturne ideas and wait to hear back from the ones who have DOTT?” 

She’s right. 

So, today I woke up from a good night’s sleep and thought that things could be worse. 

To understand the importance of this statement, you have to see this post. 😉

With a busy weekend ahead for me,   I’ll leave you with a quote to ponder.

To surrender dreams, this may be madness.”      Miguel de Cervantes

Even on the difficult days, we have to remember what we want and the kind of work and patience it takes to get there.  🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dream Goals Take Patience

  1. “To surrender dreams, this may be madness.” Miguel de Cervantes

    “Even on the difficult days, we have to remember what we want and the kind of work and patience it takes to get there.”

    Amen to that. Nothing worth dreaming is ever easy, right?

  2. I have the same aspirations. I want everything happening now! On the spot! It’s frustrating. I want my stories featured in the first magazine I submit and get the YES immediately. Blah.

  3. Lisa Trevethan says:

    I am one of those that didn’t try to write until just a couple of years ago and I’m over 40.

    So I hear an imaginary tick tock and feel someone looking over my shoulder constantly.

  4. relliott4 says:

    That tick tock is there for us all. Pain in the ass, eh?

    We keep plugging away and getting better–we’ll get there. 😉

  5. Have you had a chance to watch Taboo yet? You’ll never be the same again. I lost what tiny sliver of innocence I had left that night in the hotel room…

    Don’t fret–you’re in great shape with lots of really good interest. I think I felt like I was on the cusp–any phone call could be the one and at my next writer meeting I’ll have good news–for like 9 months. It’s torture. Could be worse though–you could be hanging in there by giant fish hooks like the Taboo people.

  6. relliott4 says:

    It is torture. I want to have good news so badly. And I really, really wanted it before OKRWA’s big weekend this week.

    I think the hardest is when you know they’re reading your work. I have four I know have the work and some with just the query still.

    Yes, it could always be worse. In fact, I’ve adopted the “At least I didn’t have to eat cow ass” saying. My husband makes the worst face…

Leave a Reply

