Weekend Quote Early

design.jpg

“We must have courage to bet on our ideas, to take the calculated risk, and to act.  Everyday living requires courage if life is to be effective and bring happiness.”             Unknown.

I’m giving you the weekend stuff early because OKRWA has a special event planned.  They’re flying in an editor and agent for a little one on one time for members.  Dinner and drinks Friday, workshop Saturday and pitch sessions. 

Unfortunately, I didn’t think I would be able to make the weekend, so I didn’t sign up to pitch.  Plans changed, so I’ll just be hangin’ out and hoping to catch some interesting publishing info.  

(BTW, the image is from a terrific site called Digital Blasphemy.  They offer free to use wallpaper images and for a small fee, member galleries that contain some of the best writing prompts ever-especially for those of us mad for sci-fi stuff.)
About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend Quote Early

  1. Carol says:

    Really interesting picture. I need to check out the site. Have fun at OKRWA. I wonder if that’s a meeting I need to start attending because of the potential for doing something with Fairy Dust as a novel or writing a nocturn bites short?

  2. Carol says:

    Really interesting picture. I need to check out the site. Have fun at OKRWA. I wonder if that’s a meeting I need to start attending because of the potential for doing something with Fairy Dust as a novel or writing a nocturn bites short? There I go, thinking again. Carol

  3. relliott4 says:

    This weekend, OKRWA is a members only thing, but after that, you can attend two meetings to see if it’s something you’d enjoy. 🙂 You join National which runs about 75 a year and then the local, which is around 25.

  4. I wouldn’t let the realization get you down. You have to remind yourself that by choosing to submit to only a few agents at a time that it lengthens the process.

    I hope you have a good weekend. Wish I could come…

  5. Lisa Trevethan says:

    Thanks for the Digital Blasphemy link. I found an image of a forest at night with fireflies that is perfect imagery and inspiration for me right now as I am world building my version of faery.

    My writing right now is how the realms of faery, demon and angel interact with each other and the human world.

  6. relliott4 says:

    Yeah, Heather, I keep telling myself that. A part of me just wants to hit every name on my list at once, but from different agent blogs, mass emailing is a no no. Of course, they probably mean blind. 😉

    You book sounds interesting, Lisa. I have demons in DOTT but they aren’t the main problem. Have a bigger, scarier villain. I collect fairies. Have quite a few from a local artist I met a few years ago. http://www.nenethomas.com

  7. Sunny Lyn says:

    photo is kewl, girl – and I hope you’re enjoying your weekend and pick up tons of writer info you can use!

  8. Mhm, sounds like a major bonus filled weekend for me. Just have some fun, get some priceless info, even if you have to flirt a bit and go all the way.

Leave a Reply

