Networking Among Friends

networking.jpg 

Had a full weekend and I’m a little tired, but I’m working.  The weekend fired me up.  So, I’ve been outlining my three Nocturne Bites ideas then tonight I plan to jump back into BOAA–the second in my UF series.  I really feel this book is going to flow faster and better than the last one.  The characters are already stronger and their relationships are getting more intense.  Man, I love this work! 

Spending time with an agent and editor in a small setting like we had over the weekend was fantastic. 

I’m still only seven weeks out from major surgery, so sitting up half the night with Terri Friday probably wasn’t the best idea, but damn if I didn’t enjoy it.  We don’t see each other nearly enough and I love her like crazy! By lunch yesterday, I was exhausted and punchy, but once I had some food, I was good to go and went ahead and pitched at the last minute.  You know, I think that’s the best way to do it.  No nerves beforehand.   

It went well.  The editor seemed interested in the story, so we’ll see. 🙂

I enjoyed hanging with the group.  Got to know our new member, Kevin Adkisson, and am now pulling for him.  His book sounds great! He is a very good sport.  When you have that many women together, the conversation goes soooo female and he didn’t blink.  Laughed a lot, though. 

OKRWA really is a wonderful group.  We share in all successes and push hard for each other. I enjoyed hanging with Rachel yesterday–we spent most of the afternoon together.  Had a blast, as always, with Gena.  The woman should be illegal.   Oh, and you simply MUST go to Jill’s site and watch her new Author Talk video with PC and Kristen Cast.  PC and Kristen are OKRWA members and the latest to hit the New York Times!!!!!!! I forgot my camera, so as soon as members start posting pics, I’ll share links.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life, OKRWA. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Networking Among Friends

  1. I really hope I get to see y’all more than once a year!

    Glad you had a fantastic weekend. Congrats on doing the last minute pitch. I’m really rooting for you because DOTT is a unique, wonderful story. 🙂

  2. Soooo….do you have to be a member of RWA to join OKRWA? Email me offsite and let me know dues and such…

    Thanks!
    Sara

  3. And CONGRATULATIONS on your pitch! I know it’s scary, but sounds like it went really well. Kudos, kiddo!

  4. Sounds fun and productive. Looks like you have some awesome writers in your chapter. How cool is that? I’m still tossing around as to whether I should join RWA since I’m not writing romance.

  5. relliott4 says:

    My UF has strong romance elements to it. I also want to do some romantic suspense novels, so being a part of RWA is still important to me. I started with romance. 🙂

    Emailing you Sara!

    Thanks Heather! We missed you there.

  6. You know, I’ve thought about doing romance at some point too. But that will be at some point in the future. There are romantic elements to the story I am currently working on and really, I can’t think of trying to write a story that would be completely devoid of some sort of romance…

    I probably just answered my own question ;D

  7. relliott4 says:

    I know! Most of the really good movies, no matter what genre have some romance in them. I can’t imagine writing something totally without at this point either. It’s too fun. 😉

Leave a Reply

