Counting Sheep Doesn’t Work

turbo.jpg

Ever have one of those nights when your mind is spinning like a turbo engine and you simply can’t shut it off?  You’re supposed to get out of bed instead of tossing and turning.  So, I did.  Watched TV, then crawled back into bed in the early hours only to experience maximum takeoff thrust! 

I could have powered up a Boeing 777.

And what’s with the counting sheep thing?  Does that work for anyone?  I’m a writer, so sheep aren’t just going to calmly trot by and leap daintily over a fence.   No, they do interesting things like fly Boeing 777s.

I suppose I don’t have to explain to any of you why imagining white, blank paper is a bad, bad thing.  😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Counting Sheep Doesn’t Work

  1. shenmue7754 says:

    I did counting sheeps too before but it didnt work out for me though…

  2. shenmue7754 says:

    i hope its fine with you ill add you in my link? Have a great day always

  3. Counting sheep used to work for me when I was a kid and needed to take my mind off of things. Doesn’t work anymore.

  4. Hmmm, wonder why you can’t turn off the engine? 🙂 A glass of hot milk with Kaluha in it sometimes works. Good excuse for Kaluha. lol.

  5. relliott4 says:

    I also stayed up close to midnight working so I was probably revved up by that. Plus, I’m thinking of dumping a scene in another book…;)

    Kaluha and warm milk. Sounds kind of good. I might try that!

  6. Carol says:

    Kaluha and milk, white Russian, must get cream on the way home. Brain over-drive usually hits me about 4am when I’m trying to get back to sleep.

  7. Celise says:

    Honeychile, you are preachin’ to the choir here. Right now–when my mind should be on sending my work to an editor–I’ve been thinking non stop about my company and all the stuff I still have to do. Sometimes, I think I should take a sleeping pill just to shut my mind down.

  8. andrea says:

    my sheep always end up leaping over their fences, into the forest and having adventures. None of these adventures involve getting a little sheepy shut-eye, of course. I’ve yet to find anything that really helps when I’m in one of those revved-up moods :-/

  9. . says:

    ‘Writing is easy
    All you do is stare at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.’
    Gene Fowler

  10. kstarz says:

    maybe you can drink wwarm milk oir scomething but counting sheep never helped me either

Leave a Reply

