Some Resource Book Favs!

The Writer’s Digest Character Naming Sourcebook by Sherrilyn Kenyon.  This isn’t the cover I have, but my copy is probably a few years older.  I pull this book out every single time I need a name.  Sometimes, a character’s name will come to me right away.  Sometimes, I don’t understand the character until I know their name.  This is an excellent source for names, origins and meanings.

The Describer’s Dictionary by David Grambs.  My copy is falling apart and yes, I will go and fork out the cash for another.  With chapters on color and building descriptions, I never fail to find some ambient descriptionary term that just fits.  People, places, things… and quotes from actual books that will have you racing out to get your own copy.

5000 Spells by Judika Illes.  What can I say but this was the best bargain book find ever.  I have it’s twin as well.

The Element of Witch Craft by Judika Illes.  Both of these books have the power to break a writer’s block.  Seriously.  If I get stumped and pull out my favs for a little idea searching, I find something cool and interesting in these two. 😉

 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Some Resource Book Favs!

  1. Chandra says:

    If you don’t have a copy of the naming dictionary… there are two excellent online resources at Behind the Name. One for first names and one for family names.

    http://www.behindthename.com/
    http://surnames.behindthename.com/

    I’m going to have to look for that describer’s dictionary. I keep wanting to use the same images in everything I do.

  2. Rinda says:

    Oh, thanks for the new resources!!! I love the Describer’s Dictionary- you look up a color and it gives you so many ideas. Most of the time, it sparks descriptions that are all your own. 🙂

  3. Celise says:

    I probably have the same issue of the character naming book as you do, Rinda. This must be the updated version. I have it, but I don’t use it anymore. I found a lot of names when I was entering medical claims data entry, so I’m good to go for a while. LOL. And I’ve never heard of the Describers Dictionary, but I’ll be sure to get it. Thanks for the resource tips.

  4. Those Element encyclopedias are brilliant resources! I’ve used the spell one before… 🙂

  5. Oh the last two books are must haves. I want them very badly! Darn, I need money. I bet they can realkly overcome every single bit of boredom and writer’s block in a swish. Yup!

  6. The Describer’s Dictionary?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!! THANK YOU! *hug* I didn’t know anything like this existed. 😀

  7. Carol says:

    In case you want to make a profit, the used version of the spells book is going for anywhere from $64.00 to $100. I do want both, but not for quite that much. Carol

  8. Kimi says:

    There are a few other really great finds. I’ll have to do a post myself…but I thought I would let you know:

    The Romance Writer’s Phrase Book (priceless to have)
    The Elements Ency. of Magical Creatures
    Creating Believable Characters

    Just to name a few 🙂

  9. relliott4 says:

    I have the Character one, but I didn’t know about the Elements of magical Creatures! I’m going to look it up now.

    I have a bunch of great magical books–Monsters is my favorite. You can read about it here.

    http://www.amazon.com/Monsters-Investigators-Guide-Magical-Beings/dp/0738700509/ref=pd_bbs_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1208107144&sr=8-3

Leave a Reply

