Refreshing Weekend

It was a beautiful weekend and I spent it with family.  This gorgeous guy here–the hubby–

–talked me out of my hermit tendencies (what some refer to as writing… 😉  )  so we could spend time outside together.  Went for walks, relaxed on the back porch with our hands over our beverages since the wind was whipping little seed husks off the trees over our heads.  The house blocked most of the wind, so our private haven held a slight breeze… along with the falling husks.  They sparkle when they catch the sun, so at times, it felt like being in a fairytale.

Everything is turning green, our fescue stretches out far, a comforting emerald carpet.  The hostas have burst from the ground and are unfurling big, velvety green and variegated leaves with a speed you can almost see.  We had pansies survive the winter and the hubby and I made plans for some new garden color.  He has this thing for begonias–I go for more big leafy color.

But he was right to get me outside.  It was just what I needed.  Fresh air and hubby time.  So, I’m ready to face the upcoming week. 

In addition to day job, my goal is 1500 words a day.  I know, my usual is 3000, but that’s a little difficult with full time work and busy spring kiddo activities.  It’s not healthy to consistently miss your goal, so sometimes a more reasonable amount will spark a bigger fire.

Because, knowing me, I’ll sling past the goal most days. 

Shot by my daughter–last year’s fescue. 🙂

 

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Refreshing Weekend

  1. Carol says:

    Love both the pictures, I took my laptop outside for at least half the day on Saturday. Unfortunately it was to work on conference stuff, not Bloody Murder, but the fresh air without wind was wonderful.

  2. Kathy says:

    See, I’m a night person. I ran all day both days with family parties, so I didn’t have a chance to enjoy the sun. But last night I went to read outside. When the sun went down, a full beautiful moon rose on the clear city night. The wind calmed some and I just sat there and listened to music in my car.

    It was lovely.

    K

  3. relliott4 says:

    Oh, I love sitting on my back porch at night. We discussed our dream of someday putting in a pool. have the spot picked out and everything–won’t lose many trees at all. 🙂

  4. The weather has been lovely. I’ve spent a few good days in a lawn chair while the kids ride bikes and scooters and race and eventually fight. 😉

  5. Ciera says:

    lucky woman! The weather has been gorgeous hasn’t it? I don’t get out no where as often as I should..I’m a nightshifter so I don’t see much of the day except on my days off.

  6. Chandra says:

    3000 words a day with a day job, a husband, and kids?

    How do you do it?!

  7. relliott4 says:

    I can’t. That’s why I lowered the goal. When I was writing full time, I hit 3000 daily easily because I had a solid writing time and habit. Trying to squeeze it in isn’t as fun. heh heh

    My goal is to write full time again. I’ll hit 3000 again then.

Leave a Reply

