Hobbled

I feel like I’ve been in a fight.  Swam yesterday and was having a blast going down a slide with my friend’s daughter.  But I went over and over and at some point, the bottom of the pool tore my feet up.  Plus, you use a lot of muscles playing in the water.  Muscles used to my butt being parked in this office chair.   😉
 
Then, the hubby and I were awakened all night by this thing! 
 
 
 
I set it to only go off if my county is in danger, but no, it must go off and talk for eight minutes if all the surrounding counties are in danger as well.  You have to hit a button to shut the thing off, but the alarm is so loud, I’ve already been jerked out of bed completely by the noise in the first place. 
 

The hubby bought it for me because I stay up all night during spring and early summer storms.  My kids sleep upstairs and I want to know when I need to get them downstairs ahead of time.  Sleeping while a tornado is headed our way is a big fear of mine.   So, he thought this would ease my mind.  Last night a crack of thunder was so loud, he woke and came looking for me. 

I was, of course, watching the live news in the living room with the sound down low to keep from waking him.  He mentioned the radio was supposed to keep me informed so I’d sleep.  I just smiled and said old habits are hard to break.  So, he curled up with me on the couch.  Poor guy–he starts a new job today and I think he only got about three hours of sleep. 

It’s nearly impossible to sleep during loud thunder and seventy to eighty mile winds.   Sounds like a war going on outside.  From the looks of things this morning, it looks like it did, too.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hobbled

  1. Glad you’re okay and tornado free! Email me off site and let me know about Hubby’s job. Congratulations! 🙂

  2. I hope there was plenty of coffee for him this morning and that the first day was a good one.

    Sorry about the storm. My husband and I are heavy sleepers, so I always check the weather before bed. It sucks having to stay up until 4am when the cell is supposed to hit us, but not much else we can do.

    Where did he get the alarm? I need one of those.

    See you next Friday. 🙂

  3. It was loud at my house too. Dumped over my patio table. I have one of those radios but I just have the light on not the loud alarm. I’m not going to sleep through a loud storm anyway. Congrats on hubby’s new job. Hope the feet feel better.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I don’t sleep through anything, but I’ve been in tornadoes that came without all the loud noise first, so I’m not taking any chances.

    Heather, I got mine at Homeland. Don’t know where they have them there. The alarm could wake the dead. No one would sleep through it.

  5. Laura says:

    Me, I sleep through everything, including ridiculously loud thunderstorms in the woods while staying in a tent. Didn’t wake up once. I could probably even sleep through a war outside.

  6. relliott4 says:

    I can’t imagine sleeping that well. You’ll live a long, healthy life. 😉

  7. Brooke says:

    I’m the same way–glued to the live feed, fully expecting every storm to be The One. I’ve been in a bath tub with a motorcycle helmet on, that is how convinced I am. My mom, on the other hand, will be outside doing yard work and I’ll call and tell her there is a tornado in her area and she should probably go inside and she says “I can see it if one is coming” —UM?!?! I’ve seen the visability around her house–If she can see a tornado that means it is in the driveway!

    Glad all was well with these past couple of nights. I had to play it really cool since my new puppy was doing so well. I didn’t want her to see me nervous.

  8. X. Dell says:

    Considering what your area has gone through recently, I don’t know how long it would take for you to find the radio reliable. And if your husband woke up to the sound of thunder, he might not have all that much stock in it either.

    Still, that sounds like a remarkable little machine to have.

  9. relliott4 says:

    The alarm had already roused him–which is why I think the thunder made it through. He normally sleeps like Laura up there–through everything.

    Every spring, I say I’m going to move. But I love my friends here. Love my house.

    Brooke, you are so sweet to not freak out your puppy. My son gets so freaked out, I have to stay calm. Must say, you in the bathtub with the helmet is a very fun image. We should all do Oklahoma Author Tornado Prep Pics. LOL!

Leave a Reply

