Productive Weekend!

 

I finally got a new laptop!  I’m pretty happy with it so far.  The only downside is the touchpad seems to get kind of hot which is hard on the wrist after a while of typing.  And it gets smudgy since it has this cool fusion finish.  But other than that, I like it.  I’m hoping that buying a lapdesk with built in cooling fans will help with the wrist heat.

I went with a Toshiba Satellite A305-S6825.  I had a hard time picking between the HP, Dell and Toshiba.  There was a cool looking HP I was leaning more toward but once I snagged a sales guy who actually knew something, I learned the version of Vista on it created havoc with software.  This laptop has Vista, but no problems so far.  It has 3GB of ram and a 250 hard drive as well as an Intel Duo Processor, plus the screen is bigger than the HP I was eyeing.  I’m a happy writer today.

So happy, I’ve already cleared four thousand words of the side project!!!!  Man, this book is just falling into place and I’m really excited about it.  (And since it uses a lot of similar mythology to BOAA, I’ve managed to get research in on that book while working on this one!)

Today’s work is four thousand roughdraft/outline pages, so once filled in will translate into about four or five chapters.  Since the length of YA novels can be around 60,000 words, I could have this puppy roughed out in less than  a month if I could hold this rate. 

I soooo look forward to writing full time again.  I’d forgotten how good it feels to accomplish so much in one day.

Of course, nothing else is getting done.  I probably should get up and clean or something.

Nah.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Productive Weekend!

  1. Yay on your new laptop! Nice model. May it live long and prosper. 😉

  2. If you have a choice between cleaning and writing, writing wins hands down every time. Congrats on the new laptop, always fun. I so like mine. C

  3. So glad you’re on a laptop again! Sounds like you’re really making progress on the new project. Will want to hear all about it at Romance ink. 🙂

  4. I’ve heard lots of good things about Toshiba laptops over the years. My laptop at college is a Gateway, and it works fine.

    As for Vista, my new desktop (a 3 GB gaming computer from Dell) came with Vista, and it works fine. I finally figured out how to disable the annoying “Are you SURE you want to do this” questioning. But I think because this system came with Vista installed, I don’t have the problems that people who update from XP might have. The only problem I do have is with my Lexmark X3430 all in one machine. When I have it plugged into the computer and the machine needs to reboot, it won’t boot to Windows because the USB link messes something up. Fortunately, my monitor has 2 USB ports on the side, so I cans imply jack in when I need to use it. My HP LaserJet 1000, also a USB connect, works fine, though. It’s something about this Lexmark that’s the problem.

  5. relliott4 says:

    I’m loving my laptop. So happy to be a mobile writer again. 😉

Leave a Reply

