Music Just Works

Ever have a project and you spend two very, very long days fighting a computer that just can’t handle that project? 

I finally finished the project, but there are three more I’m supposed to get done this week!  Two days for only one is such bad time.  My poor computer crashed over and over and no, it’s not a virus or anything like that–it’s just a particular program that might need monster-built computers to run.  It started chugging so badly that copying two images took ten minutes! 

I’ve had a couple of terrible days and it looks like the rest of my week isn’t going to get any better.  So… I took the night off, poured myself a nice glass of red and I’m really hoping I can dump the stress of the day job and focus on my real love tonight. 

Since I can’t handle any hard, angry music, I pulled up one of my favorite Youtube videos of my favorite band singing a fun and incredibly good live version of a frisky song I also happen to love. 😉

I found another bit of bliss for my ears this week on that AuralgasmsRadio I told you about.   And man, I fell for the Itunes easy access thing and bought the entire CD again.  I know.  Weak.  This has been around a while, but I’m a new owner so give me some slack.

But as this particular song (vocals by Chris Martin) from Faultline’s Your Love is Everything CD played, a  I saw a scene in such clear, vivid vision, I spent three straight hours writing without stopping Sunday night. (Cleared two thousand words, my dears.)  Again, if you have earphones, turn it up and close your eyes for this one.

http://www.last.fm/music/Faultline/_/Where+Is+My+Boy%3F?autostart

Oh… and if you need one last bit of bliss and have a thing for Chris Martin’s (Coldplay) voice–as I do– then one last one.  It’s the last.  Promise.  Slow, heartbreaking and beautiful.

 http://www.last.fm/music/Faultline/_/Your+Love+Means+Everything+Part+2?autostart

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Music Just Works

  1. I spend my days wrasslin’ computers, so I know exactly how you feel. Not fun.

    I’ll check out those songs tomorow. Thanks!

  2. Great songs! That woman from Over the Rhine makes it look so easy, which is the sign of an accomplished artist. Thanks, I needed the fun sound this morning. 🙂

    ~Sara

  3. Great songs! That woman from Over the Rhine makes it look so easy, which is the sign of an accomplished artist. I needed the fun song. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    ~Sara

  4. Kelli McBride says:

    I am a recent Chris Martin convert. I know the band is compared to U2 and he is compared to Bono, but I get more of a Sting vibe from him than Bono. And that’s good.

    I’m also very into Jared Leto and 30 Seconds to Mars. There’s one song, A Modern Myth, that ends with him repeating ‘goodbye’ over and over again, till he’s almost screaming it (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3eK4j1FY_Q&feature=related). Great CD (Beautiful Lie)

  5. Rinda says:

    I’ll have to dig back, but I posted about Leto and Mars last month. Yes, it’s a great CD. 🙂

Leave a Reply

