Sharp-Edged Juggling

Started my official daily word goal last night.  Had a heck of a time turning off the internal editor and had to wrestle her to just let the shitty first draft flow.  But I did.  Writing on a set schedule is important if you want to slam through deadlines and goals.  

Plus, the drafts may start shitty and and weave in and out of truly wretched, but something good always mushrooms from them.  (Sorry, couldn’t resist. heh )  It’s all about getting into the zone and it doesn’t usually happen right away.  Stick it out and you get there.   I snipped and shuffled, but cleared 1500 new words last night.  Yay!

I think writing at night works because everyone is asleep, there are no distractions and I feel absolutely no need to get up and do a load of laundry. 

Plus, all that darkness and quiet just floats the imagination.  

Summer comes with sharp-edged juggling. 

While I’m glad we don’t have the frantic activity schedules, the early morning daily hassle, the hours spent micro-managing my unmotivated son’s time and uh, the dreaded constant notes from his teachers about why he did the homework but didn’t turn it in– summer comes with a price. 

I truly miss the uninterrupted stretch of time I get each day while they are away.   And, there is a lot less Mom Guilt then. <g>  My payjob is at home as well, so I spend hours in front of a computer.  Hours they spend occupying themselves.  I truly believe it’s good for them to have a certain amount of time occupying themselves–we do them no favors by filling all their time, but with two “in front of the computer” jobs, that time gets heavy.

It’s hard on the kiddos, too.  For instance, a few days ago, I was working, earphones set to medium, typing like crazy.  My son came into the room and walked right up to me.  I was so caught up, I gasped and nearly jumped out of the chair.  He felt so bad, his little face fell and he turned to leave, muttering apologies.  I had to stop and soothe him, tell him it wasn’t his fault, I was just concentrating.

Then I said yes to a soda.  Sigh. Freaking Mom Guilt.

So, I moved the writing to the late hours for the summer.  I know me.  I’ll blend into the quiet and the dark and will easily get lost in some kind of fanciful world of my own making.  Much easier and way more fun when you aren’t wondering what the little ones are up to…

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sharp-Edged Juggling

  1. Jinx!!! Lol. Yanno, it IS weird. 😉

    I’ve been suffering with the mom guilt a lot lately. They gingerly hug me (after asking if they can), afraid they are going to hurt me. I feel horrible for all of my daytime napping, aka neglect…

  2. relliott4 says:

    You and I both have surgery recovery to add to the Mom Guilt, so I feel your pain.

    Then we had the dead car that kept us housebound. Figured that one out. While recovering from the big surgery, I didn’t move my car for weeks. A rat made a nice, warm home up under the hood and feasted on wires. The hubby repaired and my car is working. Love the return of air conditioning. One thing down.

    Now, if I can just figure out how to get more time to help my daugher with the nervous driving, help my son with his study skills, get my book on the shelves…

    LOL, had to slip that one in, didn’t I?

  3. It’s looking great over here, Rinda! Good job. 🙂

  4. relliott4 says:

    I was never comfortable with my last two themes. Still have a font issue here, but I’m done for now. I’ll have someone else design something cool for me later. I even have the photos saved–as you know. 😉

  5. I’d love to get in more late writing when the other person in my house is asleep, (Yes, less Mom guilt) but I still have to get up for the day job. Dang! Lunch hour and eveing will have to do, along with the “you’ve been gone all day, talk to me.”

  6. Kathleen says:

    Love the new look! And me too, writing late, learning to love it. Seems that summer is almost as jam packed as the rest of the year, just hotter and muggier, at least filled with different projects.

  7. Celise says:

    Like the new edgier blog skin, Rinda. I don’t envy you trying to juggle family and writing. I juggle writing and working a FT job. Thanks God for hr lunches and 15 min breaks. I plugged your store the other day on my blog, so hopefully you’ll get some sales.

  8. Kathy says:

    Ah, yes. Mom guilt. Remember it well. Meh.

    I used to always write at night, but when I started having to go to work at 6:30 in the morning, I had to nix that. I really am a night person. This job is not conducive to my writing. :/

  9. relliott4 says:

    I’m currently juggling family, writing and a paying job. I want to write full time so badly I can taste it. 😉 I saw that plug and thank you so much, Celise! I keep meaning to comment, especially over the misreading of your “write thing” shirt. People are amazingly dense at times, eh?

    Thanks for the compliments on the format everyone. I like it, too. The pastel stuff never fit me and I groaned a bit every time I jumped onto my blog. This font is still kind of bugging me, though. When I get a free moment (hahahahahahaha) I’ll see if I can fix.

Leave a Reply

