Crazy Hermits, Fantastic Wordcounts and Hot Fuzz!

I came into my office early this morning.  Had to run a defrag and scan on the external hard drive I use in my payjob.  It’s been dragging and slowing progress. 

So, I decided to write for a little while since the kids are still asleep and it’s quiet.  These defrags/scans take forever!

Apparently, I write well in the early morning hours, too, because I cleared 2000 words already! 

My mother-in-law just came by, it’s nearing ten in the morning and I’m still in a robe.  See?  I write and just disappear.  Was loving the flow of words so much, I probably would have sat here, petrifying, until I’d written half the book.  But I have to do the other work for awhile.  Sigh. 

I’m in my robe, my mother-in-law, who thankfully knows I’m not a layabout was here and as she arrives, I’m dragging a huge chair onto my front porch.  The Special Olympics people are coming through the neighborhood today, collecting donations, and I have a bunch of clothes.  I don’t know if they’ll take this big chair, but I’m hoping.  I’m tired of my hubby griping about it.  So what if I bought it three years ago with plans to recover it?  So what if it’s currently a hideous peach color?  If they don’t take it, I’ll drag it back inside.  I admit it.   I’ll never have it recovered.  I’m too interested in other things. <g>

I have a point believe it or not.  Thing is, dragging that chair onto the porch with five trash bags full of clothes, meeting my MIL in my robe… I suddenly realized I was confirming my neighbors’ fears.   

Yes, a crazy hermit who never gets dressed lives here. 

You see, I had to write this morning to make up for being bad last night.  I was all jacked up worrying about  my son who failed to check in properly while going to the movies with friends.  I couldn’t concentrate, so I tried out this game I saw on Lilith Saintcrow’s blog.  Oh man, this game is highly addictive.  I keep trying the different virus, parasite or bacteria strains, keep changing up their tolerances or their symptoms and no matter what I do, one small part of humanity manages to survive!  Since I’m into sharing, here ya go. 

<big, evil, wicked grinning here>  Pandemic 2 

Normally, I won’t let myself play until the work is done, but I’m a worrier.  The now-grounded boy will remember to call me with movie times from here on out. 

And okay, I wasn’t only playing a game… Heather reminded me how much I love this movie, Hot Fuzz, so I was watching it again. 

It’s violent, hilarious and has some of the best dialogue!

Since this morning was make-up, I still have to make my goal tonight.  I will not play Pandemic 2.  I will not play Pandemic 2…

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crazy Hermits, Fantastic Wordcounts and Hot Fuzz!

  1. I have Hot Fuzz recorded on my DVR. I really want/need my own copy, though. That movie is damn teh funny! Love it. Maybe even more than Shaun of the Dead.

    I let my dog out (on a leash) and all I was wearing was my house slippers, nightshirt and underwear this morning. But my backyard is stockade fenced. I was safe. 😉 (Dog can crawl under the fence.)

  2. Danny Butterman: Well, I didn’t get a good look at his face. I’m not made of eyes!

Leave a Reply

