Writer Software and Word Count Success

Note:  Images are winking in and out of dimensions on my website, but they will all soon be back, safe and sound.  WordPress had an issue with a new image server or something.  Me thinks maybe some of my writing gremlins got loose.  *They will soon be returning to the sidelines here.*

This is my Monday post a little early.  I have work and writing goals to hit everyday this week, so thought I’d set this up now.

Had a really great weekend.  Talked on the phone with Terri–someone who never fails to remind me of the best things in life.  Like her. 😉  I also spent some fantastic quality time with the family.

I dowloaded Liquid Story Binder software on Giveaway of the Day  (Thanks for the tip, Heather!) and at first thought it would be this huge time waster.  It has so many options, I was a little overwhelmed at first.  But…

I love it!!! My workspace looks a little different than the one here as an example, but it’s pretty close.  I used colors of my choice, window sizes of my choice.  My images are in a gallery to the right, my notes on the left and the middle types up to look like it would in a paperback, only I have something other than white as the background.  All I have to do is click on one of the images to bring it up large for description, etc.  Everything is saved in RTF so I can move it into Word when needed, but it also lets you set up a workspace for each chapter.  When I open Chapter Two for instance, the images and notes I have for it are opened along with the chapter.  Chapter three has its own gallery, notes, etc.  When the chapters are done, LSB puts them all together in one document for you. 

And yes, while I did spend a little time working with the new software, I only learned what I needed to get started.  There are more options I’m sure I’ll love, but the word goal comes first. 

Speaking of which, I hit 3000 words tonight, so I’m turning off the ‘puter to watch a movie and relax.  I worked up a pay job schedule for the week and I’m sticking to it, no matter what.  Letting myself get as exhausted as I did last week is a bad, bad idea.  Have to leave energy for the brain to weave the story. 

WTT is falling into place–it’s moody and mysterious and I’m loving it. I can’t wait to show Miriam!:)

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writer Software and Word Count Success

  1. Nels says:

    I’ve actually downloaded LSB twice and both times found it way too complicated to even know where to begin… But, both times, I was already in the middle of writing something, so maybe next time I need to get it and start when I have something completely new.

    Also, how do you get your word counts in LSB? Once again, it was so complicated I couldn’t easily figure that out… and as you said, word count goals are the most important.

  2. relliott4 says:

    I agree that it seems WAY too complicated at first–that’s why I only learned how to do a few things. I had a couple of chapters done in this book, as well as later scenes here and there. I just copied and pasted them in.

    When you have a chapter window open, the word count is at the bottom left. Right nex to that is word goal (which changes as you type) which you can change anytime you want. So in parenthesis next to the goal, it shows a negative number (also changes as you type) But it keeps up with how many words you need to do in order to reach your goal. I’ve got my sections set up as chapters, but you can also just open a window, type in your word goal at the bottom and it tells you when you’ve reached it.

    At first I didn’t like the timer next to all this. Nice in some ways, but at first, I’d glance at that time and kind of freak over how long it took me to get into the story. Once I quit paying attention, it was okay. Kind of like when you can’t sleep at night and you look at the clock–big mistake, right? LOL!

  3. Great software! It’s a long way from looking through magazines and making a collage for our books. Let’s hear it for technology. When it works, anyway.

    Have a great week!
    Sara

  4. I wish I would’ve known about this a couple days ago. Oh well. I would probably find it too complicated too. Glad it worked for you, though.

  5. relliott4 says:

    I downloaded it pretty late, installed it, then didn’t look at it for a couple of days. I was just expecting another writing software that would clutter up my time and be useless. I’ve looked at a bunch of software and I’m ashamed to say, that for a long time, I believed each one would have the magical answer to writing good books.

    Sitting my butt in a chair and writing is the only magical answer I’ve ever found.

    I didn’t know about the Giveaway site or I would have shared this that day. Maybe some other great word processing software will come up. Or… one for research. 😉

  6. X. Dell says:

    I can see where a software like this would come in handy.

Leave a Reply

