Exhausted But Smiling

 

(Photo by Dani Simmonds)

I was in desperate need of mind calming devices over the weekend. 

Writers are constantly torn–at least this one is.  I work in a separate job that helps pay the bills, so my choice for weekend time would be for the work I love.  I also have a family who deserves a little fun now and then and friends I love who like to spend time with us.  

This constant struggle, the push and pull and fight for time gets to me.  My hubby–who will probably understand the importance of that time when there is actual pay involved– currently feels that getting out of the house is the solution.  I’ve been bummed over some personal matters, missing Conestoga and then again, having to skip the RWA conference this week.  He felt “sitting around” wouldn’t take my mind off these things. 

Seems I have to figure out how to write while walking around.  LOL!

So while I did get in about 1000 words on Saturday, most of this past weekend was filled with friends and fun.  My kids had a blast. They tried wake-boarding, swam until they wrinkled and skimmed most of the lake on an inflatable tube hooked to the back of a boat. 

(photo by Steve Woods.)

I ate sun-hot, greasy, fried chicken with my lake fingers, sipped cold water and a beer or two, and watched from the sidelines since I’m not far enough out of surgery for such things.  It was hot.  Very, very hot. The kind of hot that physically beats against your face, makes your muscles and brain sluggish and melts the ink right off the end of a pen. 

Have to admit, the smiles on my exhausted hubby and kids’ faces last night was worth the full day out.  🙂

 

I shouldn’t feel bad since progress on the story is actually happening.  It’s constantly forming and shaping in my mind.  Scenes play out while I’m doing anything from scrambling an egg to driving to the post office.  I know me.  At some point, everything will be set aside, I’ll dig in and get the book finished fast.  It’s one thing I have in common with my CP, Rachel Vincent.  We both write fast. 

She keeps telling me the difference is, she knows less people. heh heh

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exhausted But Smiling

  1. “She keeps telling me the difference is, she knows less people.”

    Ha! That’s funny.

    I wonder if I’ll become a fast writer once all of the kids are in school? My game plan is to be sinus medicated in the morning (which helps with my ADD, go figure) and save blogging for the evening. Kids will be in school from 8:45 to 3:45. Wow. I might actually finish something. (I even bought a new plot board this weekend. Kitteh teeth marks ruined my last one.)

    Glad you had a nice time at the lake. 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Even though you may feel guilty for not getting as much work done, you’ve got to get some “life” in there too. Glad you and your family had a nice day. 🙂

  3. relliott4 says:

    I agree. That’s why I hope to eventually make writing my paying job. I know I can keep up with deadlines and that I’ll never run out of ideas–have too many already. It would be nice to spend the days while the kids are at school writing so the nights and weekends would belong to us. Most of them anyway. I know it’ll be different some days–with deadlines and conferences… But trying to pull off two full time jobs and still have a life is something else.

  4. I can so relate, working full time and writing full time. But I did manage 2000 words a day for five of the days I was in Colorado, and that’s in spite of being the bear lookout, had bears visit about five times, and those were the ones on the deck. Fun stuff. I could be so much more productive if I could write full time. C

  5. Kelli McBride says:

    Ah, the delights of picnic chicken – love it. I spent many a childhood weekend at Lake Carl Blackwell with many cousins, aunts, and uncles. We had cabins, and we’d eat fried chicken, potato salad, wienies cooked over the fire on an unwound coat hanger, etc. Though I usually ended up sun-burned and with an allergy cold, I still loved those days. Of course, that was before I realized that snakes were swimming in the lake, too. Now, you couldn’t get me in the water. 😉

  6. relliott4 says:

    What is it about being at the lake or at a picnic where you think it’s okay to eat food that has boiled in the sun all day long? 😉

    I had sunscreen and icky, very sticky, brown lake water on my fingers and I still tore into that chicken like crazy.

    I’m kind of prissy about swimming water. Not terribly fond of lakes with the snakes and well, you just know what everyone is doing in there!!!! I like chlorine…

    Carol, you saw a bear five times. That. Is. So. Cool.

Leave a Reply

