Crazy School Beginning and Breather Soon

You wouldn’t believe the current “getting-ready-for-school” schedule this week.  Two ortho appts, one immunization, sign ups, football practices, school supplies, school clothes, schedule pick up days, locker practice days, orientations–several!, shopping for books needed.   (Okay, that one doesn’t bother me in the least. <g>)  There’s more, but I’m tired of typing it all up.

I’m also working during this.  Since I work in my house, I can pretty much move my schedule around but how do full time outside-of-the-house working moms do all this?  And you know what?  I really feel for the ones who want to be writers, as well.  We are all too busy.

However, I only took two projects, so it should be okay and my evenings are still free for writing (I’m having too much fun with the current WIP so it’s become a matter of working around the writing instead of fitting it in–yay!)  and critiquing. Gotta reassure my CP since her writing schedule is scary right now. 😉 

I’m supposed to have dinner with friends Friday night and Saturday during the day.  I want to have time for my friends but with all these “have to” things, sometimes those are the things that have to be bumped.  Not yet, though, still gonna try. 🙂

The good thing is, maybe my mind will be too busy to dwell on my book’s status.  Yeah right. heh heh

However, in less than two weeks time, the days are MINE AGAIN!  I love my kiddos but I love having my days back to myself.  Look out word counts!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crazy School Beginning and Breather Soon

  1. Know that this friend gives you her full and unconditional support. Still, she hopes she sees you saturday! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about this WIP.

    ~Sara

  2. I knew you must be really busy, since all’s been quiet from you lately… 😉

  3. Kelli McBride says:

    Ain’t no bumping gonna happen!! If we have to grab a bucket of KFC and invade your house…….. 😉

    I SO understand, though. Dad was supposed to have knee replacement surgery on the 4th, but the weekend before, he slipped and sprained BOTH of his ankles. So he’s been housebound ever since – for several days, he couldn’t even stand up on his own. So that’s been sucking up time. I have been taking care of Lauren more so Mom has time to take care of Dad, but that means I’m super behind in prepping for the fall semester. I’m teaching Brit Lit Survey I for the first time. I am not worried about the literature, but getting up to speed on the history, religion, gender-issues, etc., is another matter. It’s been a while since I immersed myself in this. I LOVE it, but still a lot to get under my belt. Plus, I’m teaching 7 classes this semester. The 7th class is to pay for a cruise my friends at the college and I are planning on in May.

    Anyway, I am SO looking forward to our dinner on Friday. Not to put any pressure on you, but I would be DEVASTATED if you weren’t there. I mean, I’m not sure I could even finish BREAKING DAWN, or even think about teaching. Think of what you’d be doing to my students by breaking me down to a whimpering mush of disappointment.

    Ha!!

  4. Rinda says:

    I’m still coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

