Today in OK

This is Oklahoma right now.  Not a day under 100–up to 106 and 107.  Being outside and running errands with kids when the car feels like the inside of a crematorium SUCKS.  The poor air conditioning can’t keep up and every time we get back in, we just hang there with our arms up and try not to move too much until we can get the air going long enough to cool things again. 

The steering wheel turns into branding iron in parking lots.

And we have to run around town.  All. Day. Tomorrow.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today in OK

  1. I’ve been staying inside most of the day. School starts here Aug 25, so I’ve got a few more weeks, and thank God, because I need them.

    I’m going to think frosty thoughts for you tomorrow. 😉

  2. I so want to go back to Colorado where its cool. I miss it already. Almost finished the moving part and now comes the unpacking. All the lifting, bending stuff messes with all my joints. I remember what the weeks just before school were like, glad I’m not doing that still. C

  3. relliott4 says:

    Carol, I feel for ya. I hate moving. And to do it in this temperature???

    Heather, mine start next Friday. Which is just silly. Starting school on a Friday. I hadn’t realized it was so close which is why we’re racing around getting things done. Since I’m taking less projects for work, though, it’s staying pretty even.

  4. Sunny Lyn says:

    jeez. It was 50 degrees when I left San Francisco on Monday – and the heat index at home was 110. I nearly froze my arse off at conference and almost melted like a chocolate bar on a stove once I touched ground back in the Midwest.

    hope the day wasn’t too awful for you and yours…

Leave a Reply

