Briggs Is The Master

I sat up half the night reading Patricia Brigg’s  new book and only put it down because I had to get up with my son early for his second day of school.  Told in third person with multiple viewpoints, it’s quite different from the Mercy series, but I knew I’d be in for a treat since I love Briggs writing like I love sushi… and air.  I will always be a Mercy fan–even reread the books and it’s not often I do that these days.  

I raced to get morning stuff done and had this book in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other the second my son left the house.

I guess some reviewers thought the book started a bit slow or were confused by starting in the middle of a relationship.  Not me.  In fact, there was an emotional depth to these characters that had me in love with them fast–and I never read the prequel novella.  Seriously.  I tried to put the book down last night, planning to go out first thing today to buy the novella.  I can’t stand to read books out of order, but I could not.  Simply could not put this down.  Cry Wolf is excellent.  I just finished it and my heart is still racing with that thrill a reader gets from a really good book. 

And as a writer, the magic I get from that thrill has me wanting to do nothing but write this weekend.  I have a couple of obligations–but other than that, the time is mine.  Thanks, Patricia.  You rock.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life, Writers I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Briggs Is The Master

  1. I have the first Mercy book, but it is still in my TBR plile with a gazillion other books.

    I almost fear that pile more than my bills…

Leave a Reply

