Fast Drafting and Spoonerisms

I have some unexpected time!  I didn’t know how to feel about it earlier.  There are both good and bad aspects to this new situation.

But, the hubby surprised me.  He brought up using this time to finish the first draft of WTT.  Oh, he is soooo smart, my beautiful man.  😉

 

With what I have written and since I write my rough drafts sparse with big, intrusive comments that say things like “You think spruces grow there?  Really?” or “Research this, dummy.” I should be able to pull this off. 

So, starting tomorrow, it’s a last minute book in a month or so for me.  I’m aiming for done with draft number one by the end of September.  I’ll do my best to share progress and of course, if any good news comes about Dweller, I’ll share.  Who am I kidding?  Even Karen in London will hear me yelling.   

And for a quick laugh, I reclaimed my title as

 

this week when I offered to make croffees and bownie.  So, of course my family responded with their favorite of my spoonerisms.  “Great mom, then we’ll go out and big a dig hole!”

(That is a bumper sticker from the Write Snark–one of my more, uh, rude, offerings. heh heh)

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fast Drafting and Spoonerisms

  1. Yes. Finish that book. I like the book in a month idea. That’s my ambition for FD-Wizard after I finish the Nocturne. C

  2. Yay for the extra time! You write hard and fast and I’ll look forward to reading something of yours. 🙂 Hint…hint.

    Love you,
    Sara

  3. X. Dell says:

    At least you didn’t write “croffee and bownies.”

    Oops. I guess you did.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I had to. But you know? It’s hard to get how funny a spoonerism can be when writing it. Much funnier in speech.

Leave a Reply

