However It Works

So… I loaded up my software late this morning and stared at it.  Then stared at it some more.  Realized I still have a bit of plotting to do, but instead got up and grabbed lunch.  Returned to eat while staring.  Wished for more food, especially since I spent the morning reading Brooke Taylor’s Undone while on my treadmill and lost track of time.  Actually fast-walked two miles further than planned.  The book is FANTASTIC! 

But, as I sat eating my poor excuse for a meal (Yes, I’m trying to kick the ten or so pounds I put on after surgery before my friend Kathy Moad does my author shots in October. )and staring at my cold-sweat-inducing-blinking-cursor, it hit me.

In the seven books I’ve written, I’ve always had issues around chapter four.  It’s my freeze zone, my Achilles’ Heel. 

I inevitably work past the issue, but I’ve learned that sometimes, if I move ahead, the going back is much easier.  And since I know what scene goes there, just not exactly how I want it done,  I decided to skip and go back. 

Sure enough, I opened the next chapter, placed my hands on the keyboard and went to town.  So with my late start, I still had a decent run.  And the best thing happened.  The characters snatched the scene from me and did their own thing.  Didn’t have that part planned for quite this early, but they had other ideas.  And it worked.  I was grinning like an idiot while my fingers flew.  Found a cool, little something I can use a couple more times in later scenes.  I’m hitting that point of the story where I’m getting a better feel for my characters. 

I have to fold it up here fast tonight and do a few things around the house before heading out to a football scrimmage.  How much you wanna bet I’ll be watching the scenes playing out in my head more than the ones on the field?

So…2360 words today!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to However It Works

  1. Teri Brown says:

    It will come. Little shifts can make for big ideas. It’s funny how just a few key changes can make a difference between a book you want to toss and a book you can’t wait to get back to!
    Luck!
    Teri

  2. I love when characters take over. You are doing so great on word counts. C

  3. Danne says:

    I might be blind….I can’t figure out exactly what software you’re talking about or what you and Karen are using to do the fast draft. If you could point me in the right direction I would love to try my hand at it! 🙂

  4. relliott4 says:

    I meant my writing sofware. I’ve been using a program called Liquid Story Binder. I am having some issues with indentions, so I’m not sure I’d recommend it yet.

    All we’re doing is a kind of book in a month. We set daily word goals and then chat a little each day to see how we did–offer support, that sort of thing. Nothing fancy. I just found I had a month or so off and decided to try a fast draft of my WIP and Karen decided to try along with me. It’s like a work out buddy–someone to keep you inspired and offer support. We left it open to anyone who wanted to do a sort of NANO in September. November is too rough a month for me.

  5. Danne says:

    Ahh…gotcha! Thanks for the info 🙂

Leave a Reply

