My Official Start Date

Yes, I did start my word count last week, but September is my official fast draft session.  Completely informal and without rules, I’m hoping to have a decent rough draft by the end of the month.  This book will be quite a bit shorter than my usual, but knowing me, will increase in size during rewrites.  Karen Mahoney is giving it a go along with me, so we’ll both be posting progress.  Hope you guys enjoy watching us sweat. 😉 

I’m all fired up and ready to go.  Hit my critique partner, Rachel, up Friday for a bit of brainstorming over a blurb and she brought up a couple of things that jump-started my imagination. 

Then, I took the entire weekend off for much needed family time.  Helped the hubby in the yard Saturday where we cut down dead plants, weeded and then hauled and spread out 45 bags of mulch.  We made three trips to Home Depot… and still need another bag or two for touch up.  So, I was already sore when we headed out yesterday for a full day at the lake.  Had a great time with my sister and friends.  After that, everyone came to my house for ping pong and movies.  The guys played ping pong–we watched What Happens in Vegas, which was cute.  I played some ping pong, but it turned into a source of much amusement for the guys who take the game soooo seriously.  (Which is probably why I find the movie, Balls of Fury, so amusing.)

Oh, Saturday night, the kids and I made homemade pizzas using the recipe I found on my friend Sunny’s website.  (If you like your romances steamy, she has a new Ellora’s Cave book  out under the name Lyn Cash!)  The Chicken Alfredo ROCKED.  We also did a beef supreme which was unbelievable.  Homemade pizza is so much better than delivered–makes a mess, but the family time makes it priceless. 

So, my official start and end word count will be prominently displayed at the end of posts.  Cheering sections are always welcome. <g>

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
9,815 / 60,000
(16.0%)
About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Official Start Date

  1. Terri says:

    Woohoo! You’ve got a great start already, woman. I can’t wait to read this bad boy (hint, hint *g*). Glad to hear you had a fun fam weekend, now get to work (cracking my imaginary whip here!!)

    T

  2. relliott4 says:

    We gotta do one of our calls this month. I’ll pick up a bottle of Blackstone Merlot to prepare… 😉

  3. Danne says:

    *Sits down in the stands with my cheer hat on* Go Rinda! 🙂

  4. relliott4 says:

    Thanks Danne! You should try it yourself… It’s fun. 🙂

  5. Hey, Carol, Pom Poms, short skirt, cheering. Wait! cancel that image. Two bits, four bits, six bits a dollar, all for Rinda, stand up and holler. Yaaaayyyy! You go.

  6. X. Dell says:

    Okay, ‘m cheering you on. But if those homemade pizzas are as good as you say, I want one.

    If you’re up to close to ten thousand word on the second day of the month, you might have more than a rough draft to show for yor efforts.

  7. relliott4 says:

    X, I’d make you a pizza if you didn’t live so far away–but you can try it on your own. It’s super easy. I’m trying the artichoke one next time. Kids talked me out of it this last time, but I’m standing firm.

    Luckily, I started early. I’d love to have a decent second draft out of this. 😉

    Heh heh, Carol–you can wear whatever you want!

Leave a Reply

