Drive By Update

Insomnia= word count magic. 

Couldn’t sleep, so I pulled out the laptop in bed and just cleared another 1368 words.  Together with the 1100 I did earlier, that makes 2468 for the day.  Woohoo. 

I really, really wish the mousepad on this laptop didn’t get so hot.  My wrist is burning like crazy, so I have to stop for the night.  Well, that and I have to get up with the kids in five hours.  

But since I’m all hyped up from the work, I’ll probably be awake a little while longer.  Especially since I have no idea what scene comes next tomorrow.  Seems the plot needs more work.  Pretty normal for me.  Once I’m into the meat of the story, things change, characters grow.  And it all gets pretty exciting from here on out.  😉

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
13,962 / 60,000
(23.0%)
About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Drive By Update

  1. I just need to start dragging out the computer when I can’t sleep instead of tossing and turning, which is limited to one side right now since I managed to hurt my lt. shoulder. Great word count and your buddy is right, Its the grant total at the end of the week/month that counts. As soon as I finish my short Tali Cates, I’m going to get FD and a 3rd Tali plotted and get back into the daily word count goals, works much better for me.

  2. Your mousepad gets hot? That’s weird. Mine doesn’t even get warm.

    But congrats on the progress! I’m out for the next couple of days, unfortunately…

  3. Kathleen says:

    Go Rinda Go!!!

  4. Jackie says:

    I am insanely jealous of your word count!!! GO, RINDA!!!

  5. relliott4 says:

    Hi Jackie! I couldn’t sleep because of that “hockey mom” –you know the one. It’s good to take that anger and filter it into a character. 😉

    But I had to take Friday and Saturday off. Worked with Rachel V, my CP, and we both thought it was plot board time. I’ll have pictures later. It’s a lot of work, but soooo worth it!

  6. Jackie says:

    Ooh, don’t get me started on the HM. I almost never post anything about politics, but dang, for this one, I can’t help it. Ugh.

  7. relliott4 says:

    Me too. I’ve debated breaking into my Fast Draft month for it and probably still will at some point. As for getting started, you should hear me with a few people on the phone. 😉

  8. That’s a great word total. I wish I could hit 2 grand every day. Way to go.

Leave a Reply

