A Little Honesty Today

This blog has always been about sharing the ups and downs of one writer’s experiences.  I do it for many reasons, but I suppose the main one is showing other writers they aren’t alone.  We are a highly imaginative, and most often, a highly emotional bunch.  This is a good thing when it comes to creating gut wrenching fiction, but it can sometimes be difficult in the real world, eh?

Guess you all noticed no update yesterday.  I was probably booking it a bit too fast and hard, so a one day crash was inevitable.  Had several things hit me yesterday, but especially two. 

I’ve officially crept into month six on the Dweller wait.  I don’t need reassurance, so don’t worry–I am hanging in there.  And I have a couple of lovely people taking care of me in that respect–I owe them. 🙂 

I certainly haven’t given up and if my recent output is anything to go by, I certainly never will.   No, I love this work and have many stories to tell.  But sometimes, you think about all the writers out there waiting on THE CALL.  You think about the odds and how very few slots there really are.  Editors have a pretty heavy load.  I fully understand that.  So, though I LOVE working from home, it is a lot of quiet, alone time.  Every now and then, the wait gets to me.   This has been a long term dream of mine and I’ve never been this close to seeing it come true, so an antsy day here and there is a given. <g>

The other thing is much worse.  Not a thing, but a life experience that just throws reality into perspective.  My seventeen-year old daughter has seen more death in her short life than I have in double the time.  A girl she knew died during an appendectomy on Tuesday.  This girl was from another school, but she was on our YMCA volleyball team in the past.  I keep seeing this image of her around age ten with her big, smiling face, keep thinking of all those involved.  My heart goes out to them.  

In Fast Draft news, no, I didn’t get a word count yesterday.  What I did do was was take a lot of research notes.  As long term readers know, both music and visual art are fantastic stimulants for me.   I played loud music, hunted down interesting photographs and put together some cool descriptive passages, so I’m planning to translate those notes into a really emotional and action filled scene. 

Today is about pulling my goal back into focus.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Little Honesty Today

  1. I feel so bad for your daughter. Sending comforting thoughts to her and the family. So, so sad. 😦

    A lot of crap hit the fan here this week, too. Trying to mentally regroup so I can focus on my writing. And my fingers are crossed for Dweller! If you want me to pull out my Voodoo reference books for extra juju in the “hurry up and sell” department, let me know. 😉

  2. Oh, Rinda, give your daughter a big hug from me. I heard about this poor girl yesterday at lunch. This is such a tragedy.

    As for Dweller, I still believe. Waiting can be so difficult, but this will see print. I have no doubt.

    Take care of you,
    Sara

  3. relliott4 says:

    You heard about her Sara? Was it on the news?

    Hugs, Heather and yes, extra juju welcome.

  4. X. Dell says:

    I seem to recall your daughter going through this earlier with the passing of another friend. My best wishes certainly go out to her.

    One of the things that’s really hit me the hardest about writing is that it’s not only competitive, but expensive as well. It’s a daunting task, certainly.

  5. relliott4 says:

    Yes, she’s lost several now. This girl wasn’t a friend, we just knew her from our volleyball team. I think it hit me harder than my daughter because I immediately thought of how the parents must be feeling.

  6. Celise says:

    See? Now, reading stuff like that makes me not want to go in and get my tubes tied. I’m afraid to go under.

  7. relliott4 says:

    I’m sorry. I was terrified both times I had to go under this year.

Leave a Reply

