This Cold Ate My Words

Someone in my family suffered a huge loss this weekend.  She’s been on my mind a lot these last two days and I can’t even go see her because I’m fighting off an evil plague.  I called and left a scratchy message. So, I’ve been cheering myself up by reading my CP’s new stuff.  Plus, she called and cheered me up.

I’m about to have coffee–yeah, this late–and see if I can get some REAL WORDAGE in.  We’ll see.  This plague seems to be worse in the morning and at night.  My alarm went off this morning and I could have sworn one of Rachel’s werecats had been at my throat all night with sharp claws.  I’m still going to continue working, though my output will be smaller so I don’t have to make up so much later when I kick this.

I’m not worried.  I set a goal and I’ll make it.  😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Cold Ate My Words

  1. You are a goal meeting maven, I know you’ll meet it. Feel better quickly. Carol

  2. Here’s a get well hug just for you. *hug* Hope you feel better soon!

    ~Sara

  3. Celise says:

    LOL. I like the werecat comment. Not sure if you have just the sore throat or the whole mess that goes along with it, but here’s a Chinese Herbal remedy you can try:

    raw ginger
    scallions (onions with the bulb on the end)
    soup (particlularly chicken noodle, but something really brothy)

    Cut up the raw ginger (not the whole thing, of course) into little chunks, scallions, too. Make soup and dump them in. Eat, then go to bed and pull the covers around you. Whatever you’ve got, you’ll sweat it out. Believe me. I swear by this receipe.

    Here’s to hoping the werecats stay outside. Get better soon.

  4. relliott4 says:

    My husband swears by the sweat it out routine. His mom recommends a hot toddy. 😉

    Thanks so much for the tip. Yeah, I got the whole mess now. My hubby got it and was pretty much over it after a couple of days. With me, it lingers. Bah.

Leave a Reply

