Author Photos

Kathryn Moad  did a wonderful job!  I haven’t seen all of the pictures yet, but I want to share what she can do with her camera.  Believe me, I’m not easy to photograph.  I don’t sit still easily–unless I have a book or laptop.  😉  I also make a lot of faces, so photographing me is a challenge.  She more than met this one.   So, anyone thinking of author, family, wedding photos, keep Kathy in mind.   Check out her site–there are stunning wedding photographs already up.

I’m using the second picture as my main author photo, but will find ways to use the others as well.  Thought you guys might enjoy seeing my top four favorites so far.   

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Author Photos, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Author Photos

  1. Elaine says:

    Great photos! Love the necklace you’re wearing!

  2. relliott4 says:

    My sister made that necklace for me. My favorite stone is the tiger’s eye and she found the most perfectly shaped one for this necklace. She’s made all my favorite necklaces. I should post pics of some–they are something else. 🙂

  3. sewedel says:

    That Kathy has become one helluva good photographer. Great shots!

  4. relliott4 says:

    Thanks! She’s great. Photography makes her very happy–it comes through in her work. 😉

  5. Terri says:

    Oh, those are gorgeous!! And you ARE easy to photograph. Hmmm…where did I put those blackmail pictures??

  6. relliott4 says:

    I move around a lot, shuffle my feet and get shy if people are watching, so I end up making weird faces. 😉

    And uh Terri… just remember, you’re in those photos too. LOL!

  7. sheila says:

    The pic’s are awesome! My absolute favorite is the last one. The one where you’re smiling like you know a “secret”. It’s stunning.

  8. Di says:

    Yea, I remember Kathy. Tell her hi for me. 😀

    Good shots. My fav is 4.

    Di

  9. Rinda says:

    I bet Kathy is hanging around to see comments. I would be if I were her.

    Shelia and Di, my husband likes number 4, too.

    It was fun doing this. 😉

  10. madelaine culp says:

    Rhinda! These pictures are stunning! Far better than any I’ve seen of headshots in Hollywood! YOU ARE SO PHOTOGENIC! The pictures each tell a different story about you! The Photographer really knows her buisness! Get her to send a handful of cards to us! I’m sure we’ll all want to use her! Congradulations! and Blessings.

  11. relliott4 says:

    I’ll get cards. Thanks. Normally, I’m not photogenic, which is why I’m so happy with her work. 🙂

  12. Kathleen says:

    Holy er, ah, cow! – these are fantastic!! You are gorgeous in person and sooooooo photogenic!!! I need a decent headshot and will definitely be contacting her. Love them all 🙂

  13. Missy says:

    I have to agree with everyone – these photos are stunning. You are a lovely woman, Rinda. Number four is my favorite but I can see why you chose two as your main author photo. I’m impressed with Kathy’s work.

  14. relliott4 says:

    She sent more yesterday, along with an inspiring gift for my computer screen to help remind me of my goals.

    This has been great. I didn’t think I could take a good picture, so I’m very happy. 🙂

  15. Kathy says:

    Yeah, Rinda is so danged ugly…man. Took me hours–literally HOURS to ‘fix’ these pics to what you see here. Sheesh, I should have charged her double.

    LOL She is a gorgeous model and was a joy to photograph. I was happy with the result–AND proving her “I can’t take a good photo” comment wrong.

    See that’s the thing. People have their pic taken by a well-meaning friend or someone with less experience, then they think they can’t take a good pic. Like when I sang in a cheap voice recorder when I was 12 and decided, upon hearing it back, that I couldn’t sing to save my life. Meh. We are so hard on ourselves.

    Thanks for all the kind comments about my work.

    K

  16. relliott4 says:

    I shouldn’t sing. But I do. Loudly. My kids beg me to stop. But the dream will never die!

  17. Brooke T says:

    OMG–Love these!! The one you picked is so cool!! Great job!!

    And let’s not discuss those blackmail photos, ‘k?

  18. Rinda says:

    Thanks Brooke. Have I told you how much I LOVE having those pics, btw. (eg)

  19. Jen says:

    These are great! I like the first two the best, I think. And your boots are awesome! 🙂

  20. relliott4 says:

    Thanks! I’m a boot fanatic. 😉

  21. Celise says:

    They’re fab! I REALLY like the second one. I’ve always liked the black and white look. Love the Emma Peel boots, too. Very kick-ass. 🙂

  22. relliott4 says:

    Emma Peel boots. Love that! Thanks.

  23. Jen says:

    Great photos! And those are some seriously *kickin’* boots! Gotta love ’em!

    That second photo is great. The one I’m going to be using for any promotional reason (at the moment) is this one: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v70/jennipps/jennifertableCROP.jpg. It was taken by a friend of a friend when I went to California in September.

  24. relliott4 says:

    I think you’ve seen them–I wore them at OWFI. Would have every day if I’d been into pain. LOL!

    Great picture of you! Wonderful smile. 🙂

  25. Jen says:

    I may have & just not realized it. I have a thing for boots, so I usually notice when someone’s wearing a particularly good pair. 🙂

    I know what you mean about the pain thing. Geez louise! I gave myself such bad foot cramps from my heels and I didn’t even try to go for boots.

    Thanks about the pic. I can’t wait to see the final version. He’s started doing this 3-D photography thing and wanted some models for that, so I got my pics done for free. 🙂

Leave a Reply

