Reading-Good for Writers

Had a bit of a bumpy holiday season this year, but I managed to find time for work.  In addition to writing and rearranging on my YA WIP, I put together some research for book two in the urban fantasy series currently making the rounds through my agent.  I also worked on blog posts for the Deadline Dames.  We’ll be launching VERY soon and I’m so excited and honored to be a part of this new website.  If you missed the announcement, it’s a couple of posts down

When not writing, I’ve actually spent quality reading time.  Terri Schaefer  gave me a copy of Swan Song by Robert McCammon for Christmas. 

swan-song

OMG, this book is taking over my life.  I was up until two reading last night.  It’s become my reward for meeting writing goals, yet I hear its siren’s ‘song’ while I’m working.  I do occasionally have trouble with so many different perspectives. There have been a couple of times I’ve had to track back to see whose head I’m in.  And occasionally, I’m reminded of The Stand–but trust me, the books are sufficiently different.  

This story of the ultimate survival, this plot, the characters, and description… they’re all great.  I’ve read scenes that had me cringing and gripping the heavy, thick book with white-knuckled fingers.   I’ve read scenes so descriptive, I could taste the grit of wind-driven sand between my teeth.  I want to read what happens to these people!  I want to know about Swan and this power she has over nature.  I want to KNOW.

I feel like an important part of myself has been reawakened.  While I’ve read quite a few good books lately, there’s been a part of me that holds back.  I don’t know if other writers do this, but while reading, a part of my mind always feels a little guilty for the time I’m spending away from my own manuscripts.  For some reason, I let that go this time around and was reminded of something very important in the process.

I need to take more time just for reading.  As writers, we can find inspiration in many things-music, movies and more, but it’s seeing the words on the page that really pulls our attention back to how very powerful writing can be.  It’s made me want to dig deeper into my own work as well as give myself TRUE permission to enjoy reading again.  I needed the reminder that this is what pulled me in to begin with, this is what I want to do–write stories that take people away from their own lives for a little while.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reading-Good for Writers

  1. Alison Kent says:

    Oh, I love McCammon SOOO much. I have an audio tape of a workshop he did years ago, and listening to him is as great as reading him. BOY’S LIFE and WOLF’S HOUR have been my faves, but I haven’t yet read SWAN SONG. I have a copy here, tho, and am going to put that on my list this year!

  2. relliott4 says:

    Boy’s Life and Wolf’s Hour are now on my purchase list. Thanks so much for the recommendations! And I’ll have to hunt down the audio.

  3. I **love** this book. It’s been a while since I’ve read it. “Once upon a time we had a love affair with fire,” right?

  4. relliott4 says:

    Yes. That’s exactly right. Jackie, this book is so damned good. I want to write a huge post apocalyptic saga now! Or even a small one. 😉

  5. Lori T says:

    I loved this book…I read it forever ago (like when I was in high school which was awhile ago), but recently bought a copy for one of my friend’s who is loving it.

    Happy reading!

  6. relliott4 says:

    I don’t know how I missed this in high school. But I’m looking forward to reading his other books now, too.

  7. Terri says:

    Bwah ha ha…my evil plan is working *g*. Seriously, I told you this (and Boy’s Life) were two of the best books I’d ever read. I’m sooooo glad you’re enjoying it, babe!!

  8. I loved that book. I read it years ago and then read it again last year. I’ve read most of his books. I did notice the scope reminded me of THE STAND, but absolutely different enough. One of my favorites. Carol

  9. relliott4 says:

    I got some recommendations on my LJ blog, too, Terri. Looks like a busy reading year for me. Thanks for my present. 🙂

    Hi Carol! It has similarities, but the difference is big enough it didn’t matter to me.

    I’m starting Jenna Black’s The Devil You Know next!

Leave a Reply

