A Little Current Honesty

scream

I have been so sporadic in my posts lately.  I’m sitting down to carve out a written schedule tomorrow because I’ve let several things fall by the wayside.  Like my workouts.  WHICH IS STUPID BECAUSE I WAS UP TO 4 TO 5 MILES A DAY! (There is such truth to the fact that you generally feel better about the world when you work out!)

There’s just a lot going on.  Funny enough, not too much going on as far as physically running around.  Yeah, we had a football dinner at the noisiest and messiest restaurant around tonight, but a lot of it is merely mind busyness. 

The Deadline Dames  will be launching next week and I’m very excited about it!   That’s the fun work right now.

No, what’s making my face resemble the one above is a bump I’ve hit in my WIP.  I instinctively know some personal issues are playing havoc with my mind.  I’m pretty good at setting aside worries to work on my writing–at least I have been the last few years.  But the things going on around here are pretty intense, so a little slack is forgivable, I suppose. 

However, I’m just not that into being easy on myself.  I have SO many things I want to accomplish and while some aspects of this business are out of my hands, lately my frustration levels have been high due to a return of my old perfectionism.   

I know and I’ve reiterated here dozens of times that you simply have to give yourself permission to write a bad first draft.  And I’ve blogged that a lot of procrastination comes from perfectionism.  After my paying job went away at the end of September, I sat down and wrote 2/3 of a new novel.  Then I stopped and polished up the first three chapters for a proposal.  I sent it off to my agent at the beginning of December, then just kind of bleh.  Yeah, bleh.  I wrote on stuff here and there, started a new freaking novel and another short story, set those aside to focus on holiday and family stuff.

So January hits and I’m bright and shiny and ready to go.  I hammer out great word counts for a few days, then I don’t know, I hit a wall.  Yes, I plan to finish no matter what–love the story–but now I’m having to rethink a few things and feeling a little overwhelmed.

So, tomorrow, I’m rescheduling my time.  Repeat after me, “Structure is good.  Structure is my friend.”

First on the list?  Workout.  Second?  My 3000 words a day goal. 

Wait… my list might be done. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Current Honesty

  1. Good one, Heather! 🙂

    Rinda,
    I so hear you on making the perfect the enemy of the good. I still struggle with giving myself permission to write a bad first draft. I’m working on it though 🙂

  2. Hard to put aside the family stress, it creeps in around the cracks in our defenses.

    January did the same thing to me. Work is busy, busy. I come home tired and want to sit and read instread of write. I’m avoiding my word counts. I seriously need to re-focus if I’m going to finish this first draft by conference. I’ve also procratinated about paying dues to everyone, registering for conference, signing up for famous authors etc. CAROL, wake-up!

  3. Hugs on the family stuff. Me, too. *Sigh*

    We all have off days, and it sounds like a lot of us are just plain exhausted after the holidays. Recharge your batteries however you feel best. You’ll get back into those 3K word counts. The story’s good and you need to tell it. You’ll do it. 😉

    ~Sara

Leave a Reply

