My reward

I caved and read a book this weekend. Fantastic, creepy book that I went though in one sitting. Chasing the Dead by Joe Schreiber. Read with lights on!

But I needed the break. I’ve been working pretty hard and I have a line-up of tasks, plus Saturday was just a little too busy.

So now, it’s Sunday and I’m diving back into my book.  I will not let myself read anything else until the rewrites are done.

And it’s gonna be soooo hard because  look what I have!  Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs.

img000177

(Nothing like wet, scraggly hair, yes?)  But that book is a beauty, isn’t it?  I’ve been missing Mercy and her world, so it’s all I can do not to cheat.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My reward

  1. Rinda, that’s such a good picture of you and the book, especially you. I have the book yet and haven’t cracked it. Just finished one of Pattersons Alex Cross books. Kind of horrifying as it was talking about all the violent killings in Nigeria, makes the worst neighborhoods in USA look like paradise. Scary, that real stuff. Like fantasy better.

    Can’t wait to get back into Mercy and friends. I’m kind of stalled on FD Wizard. Laziness and no hard deadline so I need to get off my ass. EP seems to think my books will be available on Amazon this month, so cross fingers that I will finally hold them in my hands.

  2. relliott4 says:

    Your book in your hands will be a fantastic thing. Your book in my hands will be pretty damned cool, too. 😉

  3. Right now I’m reading Pride by Rachel Vincent. It’s so good. BTW, did you notice the dedication? 😉

    I’ve ordered Bone Crossed. It’s on its way. Along with a sequel to Inferno, the nod to Dante’s Inferno by Neville and Pournelle. Unlike anything else I’m reading now. Between being in charge of OWFI’s statewide contest, Trust the Night coming out in print on February 24th, and Atrum Tempestas coming out in March, oh and life and work…well, kinda busy, just like the rest of you.

    I so need next saturday’s get together. I can’t wait to see you!
    ~Sara

  4. relliott4 says:

    Yeah, we need to–especially since I don’t know what Atrum Tempestas is! Man, I feel out of it. I’ve burrowed in here.

    That dedication in Pride made me cry. She didn’t tell me about it and I found out when she sent me an ARC.

    And I uh, caved on Bone Crossed last night. Read a few chapters before bed. Couldn’t. Stop. Myself. It’s my favorite series.

  5. Lori T says:

    Rinda~

    That is a great picture of you. I just finished Bone Crossed and I absolutely loved it!! This series is one of my favorites. I completely understand how you caved…it would be absolutely impossible to have it in your house and NOT read it! Enjoy!

  6. Celise says:

    Rewrites. Man, do I know about those. I’ve should’ve started on mine over the weekend. My reader discovered a lot of plot holes that need to be plugged. No SUPERNATURAL, SMALLVILLE, HEROES, FRINGE…well, you get the message. I’m gonna have to DVR it this week and get crackin’. Good luck with yours.

  7. SunandHeir says:

    Wasn’t Bone Crossed an excellent read? And Dan Dos Santos hit another one out of the park with that cover! Mercy still has the best tattoos in all of paranormal fic.

    BTW, that Gear Head cooler I got for Christmas for my laptop that we Tweeted about is still chugging along beautifully. This, with on average 8-12 hours of daily usage..

  8. relliott4 says:

    I haven’t picked it up again. Saw the mention of a Norse character and decided I really had to wait until my book is done–wouldn’t want to absorb anything.

    I miss my chill pad, so I may pick one of these up. I’m on my laptop that much, too and need something that can stand up to it. Thanks so much!!

Leave a Reply

