House of Plague

My kiddos are really ill.  Thought this was a cold, but now I’m pretty sure we have flu in the house.  I’m making them rest, the hubby and I are creating tempting homemade smoothies packed full of vitamin C and other healthy goodies and okay, I made them a cake yesterday. 

I can’t help it, they’re so miserable, it breaks my heart.

The Dames have opened the floor to our readers.  Go over there and ask questions and we’ll do our best to answer.  Already, today’s post struck a nerve with me because Devon Monk’s story (her road to publication story) is so very similar to mine.  Some of us have tenaciously been at this year after year, but what can I say? 

When a dream is this big, it’s worth it.  Heartbreaking at times, exciting at others… but worth it.   I have a feeling seeing my books on the shelves will be something– something bigger than it is even in my dreams. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to House of Plague

  1. Mel Menzies says:

    Frustrating not to know what your book is called. :)) Mel

  2. relliott4 says:

    My books are still on submission, but the two making the rounds now are called Dweller on the Threshold and Blood of an Ancient. I have the titles on my about me page. 🙂

  3. First of all, hugs to the offspring! I hope they fell better soon. Second, hugs to you and Robert for taking such good care of them. Smoothies sound wonderful. 🙂

    Secondly, it doesn’t matter if books sound the same…they will read different. Each author has a unique perspective. Your personality and voice shine in DotT and BoaA. I can’t wait to read them in completion, after they’ve been printed by one of the more savvy publishers.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I couldn’t figure out what you meant at first. LOL! I meant Devon’s story as a writer trying to get published is similar to mine. Year after year of writing and submitting and keeping your chin up.

    The kiddos are still pretty sick. I can’t see sending them to school like this, but they are both worrying about getting behind. Poor things.

  5. Have you tried contacting the school? Many schools have systems in place to help children that have to be out due to illness. When I was out of school for a month with mono, my school e-mailed all my assignments to my mother. 😛

  6. relliott4 says:

    Yes, I contacted the school and we’re good. Kiddos are back to school, too. 😉

  7. maria Hooley says:

    Hey,

    I tried your link to the Dames page and it won’t work. The other links on your page will but the one in the blog won’t.

  8. relliott4 says:

    Hopefully, it’s repaired now. I’ve been trying to work in Firefox and it seems to have issues with links and binary files, etc. Very annoying. Going back to Internet Explorer even though it’s been locking up on me. Grr.

Leave a Reply

