Hard? Yes. Worth it? Yes.

I know I’ve brought up the new website  a lot lately.  Yes, it’s new and therefore, exciting.  But the more I get to know these writers, the more honored I am to be a part of this.  They are in a word, priceless.  Priceless.  They are seriously smart, fantastic, creative and savvy ladies.  They’ve  been more supportive than I thought possible.  I am truly a lucky woman.

I’ve been keeping this blog to a bare minimum lately.  Okay, a lot.  For one, I’m on submission and wow, every word skipping off my fingertips is thought out.  And re-thought out.  Potential editors could be checking me out dammit!  But there are readers here who have been with me since the beginning.  I started this with the intention of  complete and sometimes painful honesty about my life as a writer. 

Lately, things have been tough.  Our family has been hit by the economy as a lot of families have.  And yes, I hoped I would have finally realized my dream of seeing my books on the shelves.  Some forget that I’ve been at this awhile now. 🙂 

I know that I’ve reached a new plateau.  I signed with a fantastic agent and I’m very happy with her, but we started submitting as this economic crunch happened and there are days I struggle with this.  I understand, I do. Taking a chance on a new writer has to be a bit hard for editors right now.  But the wait is hard. The wait is hard when you’re querying, too.  I’m following several of you who are doing this now and I hold my breath in hope for you. 

The. Wait. Is. Always. Hard.

But it’s a part of the process.  Just as daily word goals, the worries over promotion, the desire to make that next book even better, the struggle to find time for writing among job and family obligations, the fear that our words still aren’t good enough–all of it is part of the process.  The process is what it is, people.

We have to work hard to achieve our dreams.

hard-choice

Picture by svilen mushkatov .

Think about how many of us are waiting.  The pressure on agents and editors has to be so incredibly hard, too. 😉

But stick with it.  If you want it, work hard for it.  Strength comes though perseverance.  There are a lot of difficult careers out there, writing isn’t the only one.  However, it is the one I know.  I believe in fighting for what I want.  Working harder and harder until I’m good enough and then working that much harder to be better than good enough. 

There are a lot of us doing this and you know what?  I salute you all. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hard? Yes. Worth it? Yes.

  1. Jen says:

    I love your dedication. Things are tough right now, but keep up the hard work. I plan on seeing your books on the shelves someday soon! 🙂

  2. relliott4 says:

    I plan to see yours, too! Just read your excerpt!! Love the idea of a ghost world. 😉

  3. uppington says:

    Thanks for writing this – I do think writers need to support each other. It’s a rough world out there! May the brilliant and wonderful news you are waiting for come to you soon.

  4. relliott4 says:

    Why thank you! And yes, writing is so solitary. It’s good to have a reminder once in a while that we aren’t alone in the hard work, worry and waiting. Not that I’m glad anyone else is suffering-it’s just a little less lonely.

  5. hater says:

    Waiting is really tough, but then no one really serious about writing sticks with it because it’s easy, right? Crossing my fingers that your book sells!
    By the way, are you going to any writer’s conventions/workshops this year? I’m trying to decide which ones to shell out cash/time for, because I’d really like to start meeting fellow writers in person 🙂 And, of course, getting the chance to pitch to an agent or editor couldn’t hurt!

  6. lynn says:

    hey sorry my last comment posted with my name as ‘hater’, because that’s the handle I use with one of my friends’ blogs to harass her 😉

  7. relliott4 says:

    I was wondering about that since you don’t seem the type to use that handle seriously. You’re one of the people I’m following on your query journey. When the tough stuff really begins. 🙂

    Pitching in person is a great thing if you can get to a conference. I met Miriam in person and feel that really helped snag her interest. The book kept it thank goodness.

    Unfortunately, this economy has us fighting to stay afloat so I can’t see going to any conferences. I’d planned to if the book sold, but since it hasn’t yet, I’ve planned on waiting.

    That said, the smaller regional conferences are the best. You’ll have a bigger selection of editors and agents to choose from at a bigger conference like RWA, but in the smaller ones, there is a lot more one on one.

  8. relliott4 says:

    I’ve planned on waiting? I need coffee. Sheesh.

  9. lynn says:

    yeah my ‘hatings’ are all in jest 🙂

    thanks for following me on the query journey; it’s nice to know i’ve got people (besides my family and close friends) rooting for me.

    I’ll see if I can find some local conferences to start with, maybe they won’t seem so intimidating. or expensive!

Leave a Reply

