Short Break to Share the LOVE

Rachel emailed last night, raving about an Apocalyptica song–one I hadn’t heard and loved, btw.  But it made me pull out their self-titled CD that I have.  Out of curiosity, I typed them into Last FM and another band came up that just blew me the HELL away! 

If you like cello and rock, they are amazing.  I immediately bought the CD off Itunes and let me just say, the words started flowing.  I’m taking a quick break to share then going back.  There are videos of them covering bands like System of a Down, Slayer even Apocalyptica. 

But  their original compositions are emotionally ripping and melodic.  Big time. 

The CD is The Sound Between.  The band is Break of Reality.

Embedding is removed so I can’t put the video here, but go.  Seriously.  It starts out slow and moody– then blows your mind. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeWZDeuwA6c&feature=related (This video is an acoustic version–the regular version is on their Myspace page.)

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Art & Music. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Short Break to Share the LOVE

  1. Jen says:

    This is perfect! I’ve been looking for something kind of heavy and melodic without vocals to listen to while writing. And this totally fits the tone of my new WIP. Yay, thanks for sharing!

  2. relliott4 says:

    You’ll love hearing they have Paramour covers. Think there’s a video on Youtube. I’m always looking for dark, heavy, hard and melodic without vocals. Crystal Method works for me, too.

  3. Celise says:

    I had no idea they were playing Apocalyptica on the radio! I really like ‘I Don’t Care” and “I’m Not Jesus”, but just thought they were new songs by different artists. I’m stunned that they look like metal heads, but play the cello!!! How sexy is THAT! Thanks for introducing me to these bands. I definitely plan to get their CD’s.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I love Quutaqmo by Apocalyptica and there’s a great live version. It does crack me up with the head banging and the long haired brunette loves his cello, but it’s still fun to watch and the music is soooo good!. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4G3Ny7ACtqM

  5. relliott4 says:

    Think I was wrong about the Paramore cover–thought I saw one, but can’t find it now. Spelled the band wrong, too. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

