Swept in LOUD

Yes, it’s my birthday.  Somehow, this news has leaked. (Heather? Karen?) 

It roared in with house shaking thunderstorms, destructive hailstorms and ferocious winds.  What the hell do you think the Universe is trying to say here? 

img00195

These trees that line my driveway, turned green and have now been reduced to

img00203

But my neighbor’s huge, huge Bradford Pear now looks like this

img00202

And that is only part of the tree…

I’m exhausted since I pulled “watch for tornado warning duty” and had to deal with no electricity and a tired and achy little boy who had fillings done on his teeth last night.  He came running down the stairs at two a.m. when the hail sounded like it was ripping the house to shreds.  We have a LOT of west facing windows, including one two story one that triples the noise!  We had no electricity and had to hunt down flashlights whenever lightening struck the sky.

So, today, to pamper myself, I took the gift certificate that this lovely person

jana1

My sister, Jana, gave me…

I walked through Barnes and Noble and faced out every Deadline Dame book, ran my hands over the books lining the shelves and earned a few strange looks from the employees stocking the shelves. 

Yes, I was making a wish that my books will start being on those shelves. <G>

Oh!  And I bought these!

img00204

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Swept in LOUD

  1. relliott4 says:

    Thanks Jen! You and I both know what I want. 😉

    Of course you’re guilty, Heather. Loved the card, btw!

  2. Brooke T says:

    Happ B-day! Those Bradford Pear trees are so delicate in OK weather–always just snapping off. But they sure are pretty. My Redbuds are going nuts right now–I have a grove of wild ones–yes a grove! Taking tomorrow off to plant some evergreens in the front of the house. The horses managed to nab one of my Loblolly pines pull it through the chainlink fence and eat it!!!! ARGH!!! Will have to blog about it….

  3. frivolousone says:

    Happy Birthday! I know what you mean about the looks from the B & N employees. 🙂

  4. Happy Belated Birthday!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

