Up. Down. Up.

Normally, I hate roller-coasters.  Sorry, just not my thing.  I loved them as a kid, but somewhere around nineteen, I developed a fear of heights. Too high and I get dizzy and my stomach crawls up in my throat.  So purposely going high, then falling?  Let’s just say the last person to talk me onto one, got a screaming ear full of cleverly placed four letter words the entire trip.  (Luckily it was late at night–only older teens and adults on it.)

Why am I talking about roller-coasters?

Being on submission is kind of like being on one–a long one– only the high parts are actually fun. 

That fizzy anticipation bubbles, puts a spring in my step and I dream of the possibilities.  Yes, I plan to write my butt off and turn this into a true career, but I’m still at the point where that dream centers around walking into a bookstore and seeing my book on the shelves.  Holding it in my hand.  I’ve done this with magazines I’ve been in in and yeah, that felt pretty cool, but somehow, I know the book will feel different in my hands.  Maybe because I’ve worked so hard for it. Carried around this dream more years than I care to admit.

I do have the days where I swoop so low, I can reach out and touch the ground.  But I’ve noticed lately a lot of those coincide w/personal, stressful days. The cool thing about this roller-coaster experience is… Even on the days when my mood could be considered nothing more than useless, I’ll have that little positive voice speak up as I crawl into bed. 

One that whispers, “Maybe tomorrow.”

roller

“We have more possibilities available in each moment than we realize.”
Thich Nhat Hanh

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Up. Down. Up.

  1. Jen says:

    I’m right there with you!

  2. I recently told Kaz that life is more fun when it’s run on a little hope. 😉

  3. BrookeTaylor says:

    Could be worse–you could be on the Tilt-a-Whirl… Ups and Downs beat endless circles any day, LOL.

    Fingers are always crossed for you! I know one of these tomrrows will be it!!

  4. BrookeTaylor says:

    Oh–and stop by my blog–having a fun contest you’d be AWESOME at!

  5. Chandra says:

    The most positive thing the submission process has given to me?

    For the first time in my life, Monday is a day that renews hope.

  6. I know, right, Chandra? Friday used to be the fun day, but it’s turned into a Monday. And every Monday, I wake hopeful that this is the week.

    Brooke, I stopped by your blog to tell you the Tilt-a-Whirl is my favorite ride. LOL!!!! I get on it with my husband and kids, we all spin that circle in the middle and they all just laugh and laugh.

  7. I avoid actual roller coasters. I can barely breathe when I drive over a dip in an intersection. It’s ridiculous. I wish my tummy weren’t made of up & down fear.

    And it’s good to have hope as your co-pilot. 🙂

  8. Celise says:

    I’ll be doing the submission thing again soon, too. But I can tell you that when I was going thru it initially, every day was a hopeful day. “Was there going to be another request for a partial or another rejection?” It was interesting, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

