When You Have To Dig Deep

Ever have one of those days when you get hit with a little too much?  Friday was my day.  I was feeling the pressure.  (Most of it not writing related, btw.)

Then my lovely critique partner called for a true “pick me up” session. 

Rachel and I may have started our relationship through a business perspective, but we’ve become friends and can both sense when it’s time to offer support.  Since we’re both writers, one understands a lot of the other’s angst–that helps. <G> 

And okay, she was also worried because she’d just confirmed something I already knew about my WIP.

I’ve struggled with this book.  The story is cool, the characters are cool–but they’re not coming across the way I feel them.   Just couldn’t seem to get that translation to paper the way I wanted it. 

Rachel swore up and down all I needed was “that” click.  That the story is great. 

Normally “that” click happens a little faster for me.  But I normally write from an adult perspective.  This story, this trilogy has to be from a younger perspective or it doesn’t work.  And I want it to work.  I love this story. 🙂

Well, she was right. I just needed the click.  And it happened.  Friday night of all times.  Seriously, it’s like the day was so difficult, I hit a wall.  I had a choice. Back down or scale it.  So I scaled.  I bought pizza for the family and shut myself in my office.  Cleaned it to remove all distractions and just focused on my story–what I wanted for this particular tale.

Ended up being the best thing ever.  I didn’t sleep much this weekend.  This polish is going fast now that I can see what I’d missed before.  I’m loving my book again.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When You Have To Dig Deep

  1. Yay! Glad it clicked for you. I love when that happens!

  2. Celise says:

    What’s that saying? Sometimes you can’t see the forest for the trees? It’s always good to have another set of eyes tell you what’s missing.

  3. Dawn Y says:

    Rinda,

    What’s going on with the Deadline Dames website? I’m on my lunch right now, usually get on it to read whatever sparkling gem is being offered that day. But all I am getting is a blank white page. *sniff* What happened to the website? I’ve also tried tagging Devon on this. I love your website!!! Need it!!!

    Thanks for everything!
    Dawn

  4. relliott4 says:

    Dawn, we’re checking into the site problem. Sorry. 🙂

    Celise, very, very true. 🙂

    Me, too, Sara!

    • Dawn Y says:

      Okay, I’ll try to check back tonight.

      Really glad for you that you had your breakthrough. Usually I can get through something if I go outside and take a walk. But, then like you describe, it can be difficult to actually find the time to write. I’ve been talking about that with my husband, and he is getting on board with helping me make that time. I’ve been letting him read some of what I’ve been working on, so he knows how serious I am getting about my writing. Especially when he sees me writing more now than I am reading!

      Hope you have a great rest of your day!

Leave a Reply

